rt kernel and lmms

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

rt kernel and lmms

Postby LinuxForever on Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:52 pm

I installed “linux-rt” from synaptic, rebooted and installed lmms. Lmms can't find an rt kernel. Should I have installed the rt kernel a different way? Is there something else the rt kernel needs installed? How do I get lmms working? Thankx for any help.
LinuxForever
Level 3
Level 3

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: rt kernel and lmms

Postby ElQuia on Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:45 pm

I´m having the same problem as LinuxForever. Maybe tomorrow (time pending) I´ll install Audacious and see if it has the same problem.
Anyone who is into audio production and knowledgeable in Linux (I'm a noob) can help :?
ElQuia
Level 2
Level 2

Postby ElQuia on Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:33 pm

LinuxForever: I did a complete Ubuntu x64 8.04.1 Install, On top I installed all the Ubusntu Studio packages including rt kernel. lmms runs OK, no errors,
Any ideas :?:

EDIT: :!: On Mint x32: If you run sudo lmms IT WORKS, no error messages, as root also works.
Must be something to do with permissions :?: (don't know if in Linux the concept is the same as windows)
ElQuia
Level 2
Level 2

Postby LinuxForever on Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:20 pm

ElQuia I don't know if it's a good idea to run a program as root. I looked at the lmms documentation but it doesn't have anything about running it as root. As long as it works though. May be I'll have the answers after I read the book for Linux From Scratch.

In regard to Ubuntu Studio, it's great for writing music. Until I understand more about the differences between Mint and Ubuntu I can only say use Ubuntu Studio as long as it works for you.

I can't figure out how to get the rt kernel and lmms to work right in Mint. There must be a secret to it.