recording sound on dell d620

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

recording sound on dell d620

Postby john on Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:14 pm

Hello
I installed Mint on a Dell and all is OK except I cannot record any sounds.
I tried with the integrated microphone, as well as with an external one.
any ideas?

playing sound is fine, it's just recording

regards

john
john
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 am
Location: French in UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby NiksaVel on Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:13 pm

check all the volumes and mute/unmute with alsamixer...

I had a similar problem... it was resolved simply by increasing the volume of something that wasn't even titled microphone...
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

volumes checks

Postby john on Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:22 pm

Thank you NicksaVel but I cannot see the mike input in alsa mixer, only output sliders

strange enough, I have a 2nd system (desktop) and it's running fine
for instance, audacity runs and records in my desktop, while it crashes on the dell

could it be the hardware not recognized or no drivers for it?

have to say my dell is a dual-boot with XP. From XP, all is correct

thks

john
john
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 am
Location: French in UK

Dell 620

Postby john on Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:41 am

+Found the issue and solution after some web search
seems the Dell is rather particular and needs some tweakings
thks anyway

john
john
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 am
Location: French in UK

Postby NiksaVel on Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:44 am

why not post the solution here so that others with the same problem might have an easier time figuring it out :D
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby john on Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:41 am

Sorry I forgot to update the message
Just right-click on the Volume adjust on the bottom right side and select the correct microphone
As simple as this

j
john
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 am
Location: French in UK

Postby dusktrader on Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:19 am

Hello, I have a Dell Dimension 9150 with the same problem. I'm using Linux Mint 3.0 Cassandra XFCE edition. Here is how I fixed it:

Install "aumix-gtk" package
Launch "aumix" from terminal
Change "igain" level from 0 to 100

It will also reflect in the XFCE mixer by showing "Capture" at 100%.
dusktrader
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:14 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests