Handbrake

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Handbrake

Postby Ferns on Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:37 pm

Theoretical situation, suppose one used Handbrake to stick some legally purchased dvds on their PsP. The process seemed to go smoothly. They also made some screenshots jpegs to serve as the icons you see when you access the memory card in the PsP. During a break at work, they started to watch a movie, and all went well until two and a half minutes into the movie, the PsP suddenly said it was unable to play the movie. They then tried another, which crashed after just one and a half minutes, then the third, which lasted a full eight minutes. Would it, theoretically, b more likely to be the fault of the PsP, or Handbrake. Irealise this could be one of those How long is a piece of string questions.
Ferns
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Handbrake

Postby AK Dave on Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:29 pm

Its only hypothetical in certain countries. :)

I'd be more likely to blame handbrake, or blame the operator of handbrake. Easy error: you start your computer doing something that is actually pretty complicated and CPU-intensive, like transcoding DVD video, and then interrupt it at random by having it do other tasks at the same time. Maybe not such a hot idea.

My success with handbrake has not been much better than yours. I wanted to take a DRM-free video from AVI format to MPG to put it on an iPod device. The video converted, I could play it back on my computer, the iPod would play it, but the video was all screwy.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Handbrake

Postby Ferns on Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:24 pm

I understand what you're saying. I have a reasonably decent spec machine though, and I thought it would be best not to be doing anything else while the process was running, so I set it off just before leaving for work. In the bad old days of Windows, I would disable as many background processes, like automatic virus checking, but I'm fairly new to Linux and don't know if that would be an issue. It may well be as you say and I'm just not experienced enough with Handbrake yet, but I'll work it out eventually.
Ferns
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:02 pm

Re: Handbrake

Postby jhouse59 on Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:59 pm

Ferns wrote:Theoretical situation, suppose one used Handbrake to stick some legally purchased dvds on their PsP. The process seemed to go smoothly. They also made some screenshots jpegs to serve as the icons you see when you access the memory card in the PsP. During a break at work, they started to watch a movie, and all went well until two and a half minutes into the movie, the PsP suddenly said it was unable to play the movie. They then tried another, which crashed after just one and a half minutes, then the third, which lasted a full eight minutes. Would it, theoretically, b more likely to be the fault of the PsP, or Handbrake. Irealise this could be one of those How long is a piece of string questions.

Where can I get Handbrake? I've used it once in Windows. But, the avi file I made was about 16 gigs. I think the the DVD was 4 gigs. Is there a way to keep the file around a gig?
User avatar
jhouse59
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:27 pm
Location: Eastern Tennessee,USA

Re: Handbrake

Postby atlef on Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:52 am

You can get it here.
You can set the desired size in the program, so you can make it as small or big as you want.

atlef.
User avatar
atlef
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:20 am
Location: Stavanger NORWAY


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests