No Sound xfce6. semi solved

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No Sound xfce6. semi solved

Postby anthony2010 on Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:49 pm

Hi all.

Whenever I try to play a cd or anything off the external drive, I get a message that it couldnt open/read media due to a gstreamer error. Actually I have no system sounds at all on my desktop.

Mint 6 xfce works perfectly on the laptop!

For the desktop I figured help might be easier with the output of lspci. It is as follows:

thony@anthony-desktop ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 6100 nForce 405 (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control

Regards all.

ant.
anthony2010
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No Sound xfce6.

Postby Husse on Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:08 pm

I can't see any mention of a sound device in lspci
However if it is MCP61 sound it is really an Intel HDA and solutions for that can be used
(Search the forum for sound ICH8)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No Sound xfce6.

Postby anthony2010 on Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:31 pm

hey Husse.

This xfce seems more stable on my system then the x64 you recommended. I like it.

The sound card is a mystery then because its built into the motherboard!

wait a minute... the bios.. let me check that and report back.

ant.
anthony2010
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: No Sound xfce6.

Postby anthony2010 on Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:29 pm

Hey Husse.

Reset bios to default settings so thats eliminated that. Any ideas why Im not reading the sound card? Its nvidia. Also I dont think its reading the cd drive either. The O/S is working flawlessly on the laptop so why this is happening I do not know!

Ant.
anthony2010
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: No Sound xfce6.

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:31 am

I reads the CD drive or you would not have installed it....
Now that you have checked BIOS (and sound is not disabled I hope) run lspci -v and post
If there still is no sound card mentioned look in the logs (System logs in menu) and see if you find anything about sound
You could also run lsmod | grep snd
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No Sound xfce6.

Postby anthony2010 on Sun Mar 01, 2009 1:50 pm

Hi Husse.

Ive decided that the xfce is best on the laptop and the x64 is best on the desktop. Im happier with the fuss of booting at times than sound system solving! Sound / everything works in x64 with my desktop.

Thanks so much for your help thus far. However I think this way is best.

Bye for now.

ant.
anthony2010
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:31 pm


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests