no sound!!!

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:08 pm

ok, i'm new to linux and i don't know whats going on.. i'm running Mint 6 KDE i noticed that the sound works just fine with amarok but when i try to watch a movie with Mplayer or VLC there's no sound... i'm using Microsoft Lifechat LX-3000 it comes with an internal sound driver so it should be working.

00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/VN800/P4M800CE/Pro Host Bridge
00:00.1 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/VN800/P4M800CE/Pro Host Bridge
00:00.2 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/VN800/P4M800CE/Pro Host Bridge
00:00.3 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. PT890 Host Bridge
00:00.4 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/VN800/P4M800CE/Pro Host Bridge
00:00.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/VN800/P4M800CE/Pro Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237/VX700 PCI Bridge
00:0b.0 Modem: Motorola SM56 Data Fax Modem (rev 04)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. CN700/P4M800 Pro/P4M800 CE/VN800 [S3 UniChrome Pro] (rev 01)

Thanks in advance!
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Fri May 01, 2009 2:03 pm

help >:(
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Fri May 01, 2009 3:07 pm

Since sound works with Amarok I think the problem exists in Mplayer and VLC configurations. Set them up to use the proper output... Sorry, I do not use KDE so I can't give you more specific instructions. But I think the default sound server in KDE is Phonon... if that appears in the configurations somewhere.

Why dont you use the default KDE player, Kaffeine? Mint is always shipped with all media formats working out of the box. So your file should play just fine with Kaffeine... and since Amarok works, there are higher chances that Kaffeine will as well.

P.S. Getting angry will not help you get an answer faster... Neither will it encourage a person to answer your question. Be calm and patient... We are here to help, but nobody owes anybody anything... No offense meant.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Fri May 01, 2009 5:05 pm

i will try what you said.. but i don't see Kaffeine here... only dragon vlc and Mplayer, another thing i get no sound on Konqueror/Firefox when i try to watch youtube videos.
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Fri May 01, 2009 6:32 pm

kaffeine worked man thanks for your help i appreciate it... but how do i fix the problem with youtube?
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Fri May 01, 2009 7:42 pm

Cool! glad that worked for you... About Flash... did you install any applications or change any settings? When did the sound stop working for Flash? All editions of Mint are shipped with all possible media working perfectly. This includes Flash. This is a requirement of Mint... otherwise it doesn't get released. So at some point you must have done something to make it stop working... If you can remember what that was, we can reverse the damage.

You could try reinstalling Flash. Search for the Flash package that is installed in Synaptic. Uninstall it completely and then reinstall the same package.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Fri May 01, 2009 8:20 pm

i didn't install a thhing or change the settings the only thing i remember was when i first ran mint and i downloaded the flash player and installed it because i was in one page and said i needed to install flash,.
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Fri May 01, 2009 8:28 pm

Flash comes preinstalled in Mint... there was no need to install it again. How did you install the second one?

run these commands in terminal

Code: Select all
sudo aptitude purge flashplugin-nonfree flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound adobe-flashplugin nspluginwrapper


then
Code: Select all
sudo aptitude install flashplugin-nonfree
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Fri May 01, 2009 8:44 pm

downloaded from the adobe site.. tried those commands, not working still =/
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Sat May 02, 2009 9:51 am

after i did what u told me to do the sound with kaffeine stopped working.. :/
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Sat May 02, 2009 12:53 pm

Sorry about that... I think I'd better leave it to someone with more KDE experience...
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Sat May 02, 2009 10:45 pm

=/... ok, thanks for your help anyways... someone else out there?
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby slider on Mon May 04, 2009 12:07 am

Hi Deekay

i'm using Microsoft Lifechat LX-3000 it comes with an internal sound driver so it should be working.
Are you saying that your are not getting sound on the "Lifechat headphones" or are you referring to your PC speaker system??? Im a bit unclear on your problem sorry.

The Lifechat is a USB device and should appear on "lsusb".

Please run:
Code: Select all
sudo lsusb -vv


Everything Shane had you do should have had you up and running very well already.



Can you run:
Code: Select all
aptitude search flashplugin-nonfree flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound adobe-flashplugin nspluginwrapper
so we can see what you have currently installed or not? Thanx!
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: no sound!!!

Postby Deekay on Mon May 04, 2009 8:26 am

p adobe-flashplugin - Adobe Flash Player plugin version 10
i flashplugin-nonfree - Adobe Flash Player plugin installer
p flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound - Adobe Flash Player platform support librar
p nspluginwrapper - A wrapper to run Netscape plugins on other


I can't get sound with my microsoft headset, the sound works fine for amarok, even when i tried to play an .avi with it, but when i try to watch a movie with mplayer or kaffeine i get no sound.. youtube also doesn't give me a sound.
Deekay
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby slider on Tue May 05, 2009 6:32 pm

p adobe-flashplugin - Adobe Flash Player plugin version 10
i flashplugin-nonfree - Adobe Flash Player plugin installer
p flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound - Adobe Flash Player platform support librar
p nspluginwrapper - A wrapper to run Netscape plugins on other


The "i" next to the output means that item is installed currently. The "p" means that those items are not installed.

"i flashplugin-nonfree - Adobe Flash Player plugin installer" is the flash that you want and it is installed. I dont believe this is a flash problem though.

Im glad to get a clarification on your sound problem. From what I understand your sound on your PC is working ok. Its the sound on the M$ headphones that is not working correctly. This is probably a driver problem particular to that item. You didnt post your "sudo lsusb -vv" so that we can see if it is recognized by the system, which sometimes will also show a driver as well.

Did you Google search to see if there is a Linux driver for it available?
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Tue May 05, 2009 6:36 pm

sound on works fine on amarok and other KDE apps... well until I told him to run those command for Flash...

Just Flash, mplayer and other non KDE apps dont work...
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby slider on Wed May 06, 2009 3:15 pm

I see. Perhaps for his system he needs to try reinstalling "nspluginwrapper". Some systems appear to need this for some reason. Its worth a try I think.

Code: Select all
sudo aptitude install nspluginwrapper


This might help, unless there was some sort of dependency package that was removed before that we are not aware of. We would then need to find out what dependencies are used and check to see what was removed along with the main packages that were listed.

Let us know if this helps Deekay.
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Re: no sound!!!

Postby shane on Wed May 06, 2009 5:49 pm

For me... and the Fluxbox CE... Flash worked better without the nspluginwrapper... It actually caused problems. I don't know about the KDE CE.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: no sound!!!

Postby slider on Wed May 06, 2009 9:15 pm

@ Shane

Yes sir I agree with you. I dont use it on my system either.

Seems like something may have removed one of his dependencies though if it worked before?

Guess we'll have to wait and see if he will try the recommendations and post his new results, then we can go from there to try and help him....
slider
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Sliding around somewhere!

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests