Nokia E4600

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Nokia E4600

Postby Branta on Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:19 pm

Installed digikam.

I camera-->Add-->Auto-Detect[ed] an Olympus USB Mass Storage camera and it imports photographs fine.

My Nokia E4600 is a PTP and it does not connect.

I added it with Camera-->Add-->Auto-Detect but there is no connection to the Nokia when I try to import photographs using the same USB port.

I am the only user on this desktop.

There is no camera group.

What ID number do I use if I were to create a camera group in the Control Center?

No camera is listed at /etc/group

--- Bob ---
Branta
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:00 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:20 pm

I prefer f-spot but that is another matter...

have you seen this:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=255482

haha it is you...

it could be related to an older issue (libs), i wonder if it is back again or still there.

http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... era&t=1716

http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... era&t=2660

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

camera group

Postby Branta on Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:22 pm

That is outstanding you found me on ArchLinux too!

You are correct and the camera works on the laptop running ArchLinux after I was able to connect 'bob' to the camera group.

My question on LinuxMint forum is how do I do the same using their GUI.

Using a GUI I am able to create a 'camera' group but do not know the ID number that should be entered. The default number was 1001 and it may increment sequentially.

What do I do to have 'camera' authority?

What ID number should I use?

Or, can I edit /etc/group w/o using GUI?

--- Bob ---
Branta
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:00 am

Postby Boo on Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:07 pm

you could use the same GID from arch linux used for group camera.

look in /etc/group for the camera GID.

I am thinking that the group camera should have been added by digikam when installed (or KDE or a lib...) like it was on arch, so just copy what arch did.

this sounds like a weird dependency setup that was missed by digikam.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MilordLuke and 6 guests