mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Postby Lysar on Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:43 am

First, I want to thank Clem & co. for a superb os. It's the best oob dist I've used.

Now, the problem: mp3 playback no longer works on Audacious or gmplayer. It does work on mplayer, totem, vlc, and gmusicbrowser. The only thing i've knowingly changed is using Sound Converter to transcode some downloaded mp3s to a lower bitrate. Those mp3s would not play on Audacious or gmplayer (nor would they play on TCPMP on my pda), but they could still play the original mp3s. Now, Audacious and gmplayer won't play any mp3 file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, since gmplayer seems quite integrated with Gloria.

Thx

lysar

P.S. I just switched to my wife's account to see if she had the same problem. Audacious played all the mp3s fine, but gmplayer only displayed the filename and a running time--no sound.
Lysar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Postby Muzer on Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:57 pm

Make sure you have 'lame' installed.
Muzer
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Postby Lysar on Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:57 pm

Of course lame is installed.
Lysar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Postby Memoox on Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:03 am

Did anyone found the answer for this, i've tried GNOME and works normally but KDE doesn't work, i've tried all output plugins isntalled by the default, suggestions?
Memoox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: mp3 playback stopped working in some players

Postby igorzwx on Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:43 am

QUOTE: "Did anyone found the answer for this, i've tried GNOME and works normally but KDE doesn't work, i've tried all output plugins isntalled by the default, suggestions?"

Try to re-load ALSA, or remove pulseaudio

sudo killall pulseaudio
sudo alsa force-reload

and them go to System>Preferences>Sound and change everything to ALSA (this is for Gnome, of course)

on Terminal:

gnome-sound-properties

Gnome has gstreamer

Type on terminal:

gstreamer-properties
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests