Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby Nate600 on Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:13 am

Hi all,

I've installed Mint 7 on my computer and so far have been very happy with it, with one exception. The audio cuts out when I start new applications and then cuts back in (annoying but not anything major i'm sure you'll agree).

The computer has an asus p5k-e motherboard connected to an external amp via an optical cable (when I was trying the live cd, I couldn't get sound from the 7.1 analogue outs to the amp so they are currently unplugged). Rhythmbox plays music fine as does firefox with any flash vids. However while I am playing music, if I start firefox, or tetravex (i think i am becoming addicted) or it appears any application, the sound cuts out for a second or so and then cuts back in. Rhythmbox is not stopping playback as it doesn't pick up at the same point.

Any ideas what's causing this, how to sort it, or the best place to look for further info.

Many thanks

Nathan
Nate600
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:03 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby igorzwx on Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:03 am

You may try to get rid of PulseAudio

Install another Mint in dual boot and make experiments there.

see:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=32173
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby Nate600 on Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:40 am

I followed the instructions to remove pulseaudio and while I now have the same problem as before. Once I had selected an audio output that gave sound when I tested it, I found I had the same problem as before.
Nate600
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:03 am

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby igorzwx on Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:31 am

"I get nothing from rhythmbox."

System -> Preferences -> Sound

and select the proper thing.

I presume, you have now ALSA with ESound.
Or, do you have OSS4?

In any case, Rhythmbox goes to system defaults.

Type on Terminal

gstreamer-properties

and tell what you have there.

If you have OSS4 installed, see Martin's screenshots
http://martinbaselier.wordpress.com/

Could you please tel exactly what you did and what sound system you have now?
Otherwise, it might be difficut to help you.

In a word, if you compiled OSS4 (or installed it from deb),
you may need to remove one gstreamer plugin for pulse.
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby igorzwx on Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:09 am

It looks like you have already edited your post.
OK
This is your new message:
"I followed the instructions to remove pulseaudio and while I now have the same problem as before. Once I had selected an audio output that gave sound when I tested it, I found I had the same problem as before."

ANSWER: ALSA does not allow audio application to share sound devices
(firefox may have audio plugs).

If you need this feature, you may try to install OSS4.
With OSS4, you can play simultaneously all your audio apps
and mix the sound in the virtual mixer (vmix).
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby Nate600 on Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:20 am

Sorry about the edit, I kinda figured it out after a bit of thinking. I will have a look into oss4 as that seems like it may be the way forward. The ESD didn't work so currently everything is set to ALSA digital in the sound settings.
Nate600
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:03 am

Re: Audio playback stops when starting a new application

Postby igorzwx on Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:46 am

Check if your sound card is supported by OSS4.
If not, you are out of luck.

The OSS4 hardware list is here:
http://mercurial.opensound.com/?file/6b ... ists/Linux

Type on terminal

lspci | grep Audio

EXAMPLE:

$ lspci | grep Audio
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
$ lspci | grep audio
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)

other useful commands

lspci -v

lspci > hardwareinfo.txt

This is the best howto for OSS4:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenSound

Try to compile OSS4 from Mercurial (new version is better):
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenS ... m%20Source
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests