Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:13 am

Ok so 2 days ago I bought an HDHomRun and it's been a battle ever since....

sudo-apt-get install hdhomerun_config
sudo apt-get install mythtv

hdhomerun_config discover

After that I go through myth and set everything up. It finds my channels from my antenna.

I run mythtv. I click "Watch Live TV" ..... Nothing.

I uninstall everything "completely" through synaptic. I start over. Only to find out that during "uninstall everything" it doesn't remove the mythtv user account.

I delete the user account.

I re-create it. I chmod777 the user account. (Yes that's a security hole, BUT I JUST WANT IT TO WORK.)

I go through the steps again. This time it works. I restart my computer. Nope not working. I restart the backend server. Nope nothing.

I go back through the steps... it's not working. I'm right back where I started. What the hell?! does anyone have something similar working?
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby kwisher on Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:51 am

I usually just install mythbuntu-control-centre (spelling is correct) and go through all the options through its interface before starting the backend setup. I don't have a HD-Homerun so I can't advise on setting it up.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:35 am

I guess I'll give it a shot... I can view everything through VLC so I just don't get it. Other than the mysql database maybe being jacked up?
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:20 am

kwisher wrote:I usually just install mythbuntu-control-centre (spelling is correct) and go through all the options through its interface before starting the backend setup. I don't have a HD-Homerun so I can't advise on setting it up.


Didn't work... I think it could be more of an issue with my setup. I'm using two ethernet cards instead of a router.
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:44 am

Also, don't use the mythbuntu package in the registry. It jacked up my desktop and login screen.
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby kwisher on Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:07 pm

tommyfullington wrote:Also, don't use the mythbuntu package in the registry. It jacked up my desktop and login screen.


You can switch to your desktop and login screen of choice if Mythbuntu changes it.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:13 pm

No I definitely changed it back. It also messes up the splash screen and color scheme. I'm just saying it's an annoyance, I might work on a myth compatible package... it's a small thing but an extreme annoyance. It's still not working though.

Channel scan works, launch mythtv, click "watch live tv" and it goes black like it's trying, then reverts back to the menu screen. Any ideas?
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:15 pm

Oh get this, it also kills all of the mint themes. They're gone. Lame...
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby dequire on Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:29 pm

Sounds like it might be a video card or driver problem to me. I have used MythTV via Mythbuntu and Knoppmyth successfully, but I have not tried it on a Mint install. Shouldn't be much different, I wouldn't think.
They'll all look at me and say,
Hey look at him! I'll never live that way.
But that's okay -
They're just afraid to change.
- Shannon Hoon

The Blue Mint
dequire
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:28 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby tommyfullington on Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:26 am

I'm currently using the latest fglrx drivers on a 4850. You could be right, although it's worked once. Where does myth spit out its error logs at? /var/?

I just don't get why it worked once and now it's like pulling teeth to get it to work. I can't even get it going on VLC now, I'll show you the error codes from VLC when I get home, maybe you can give me some advice on them?
tommyfullington
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Mint + Mythtv + HDHomeRun

Postby kwisher on Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:42 pm

tommyfullington wrote:I'm currently using the latest fglrx drivers on a 4850. You could be right, although it's worked once. Where does myth spit out its error logs at? /var/?

I just don't get why it worked once and now it's like pulling teeth to get it to work. I can't even get it going on VLC now, I'll show you the error codes from VLC when I get home, maybe you can give me some advice on them?


Look in /var/log/mythtv/. There will be a log file for the frontend and backend.

Do you have permission rights set correctly for the user mythtv for the location where livetv is being written to?
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests