No Sound

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No Sound

Postby siervo969 on Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:54 pm

Hi all, I'm new at Linux, I just have installed Linux & Gloria and runs great I'm happy with it , the only thing I'm having problems is When I put my laptop to hibernate, as soon I turn it back on I have no sound or Mouse touch pad, plese does anyone know what i can do.
Thanks for your help.
siervo969
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No Sound

Postby igorzwx on Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:03 pm

It should be possible to fix this bug in PulseAudio
http://www.pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectSetup

EDIT: This might be a solution:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=33291
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: No Sound

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:24 pm

@ igorzwx
Fiddling with Pulse Audio will not help with touch pad problems :x
Nor is removing Pulse Audio a remedy for every problem, even if it is a good solution in some cases
Don't just throw it in
@ siervo969
Welcome to Mint
You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here
Also run lspci -vvnn and post the section for your "problem", but only that section please
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
If your problem is with wifi please also tell us if you have used ndiswrapper - Windows Wireless Drivers.
This topic contains links to all (?) the really good solutions for sound in Mint
Also tell us if this is using mint4win or not, quite important
This is a standard answer so it may not be fully applicable to your situation
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No Sound

Postby igorzwx on Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:36 pm

Hi Husse !

The fix was to re-load ALSA (without removing pulseaudio)

sudo killall pulseaudio
sudo alsa force-reload

This is what many Ubuntu users are doing on a regular basis.

EDIT: It may fix sound, but not "Mouse touch pad", of course :D
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: No Sound

Postby siervo969 on Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:26 am

I have a Linux Mint Release 7 Gloria
Kernel Linux 2.6.28-11-generic
Hardware:
512 Memory
Processor: Mobile AMD Sempron (tm) Processor 3300+
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 10)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
05:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
05:09.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
05:09.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
05:09.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
05:09.4 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller
siervo969
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: No Sound

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:37 am

Fairly ordinary hardware - I have a solution to suspend/hibernate problems that might help you but then I need to know the modules the touchpad uses
Run lsmod and see if you find the touchpad (when it works of course) and post that
If you can't find it post all of lsmod, but please use the code option (There is B i u Quote Code and more above the window you type in) because this is a very long list
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests