Help for Sound Problems Intel (ICH5/5R) AC'97 [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
OverTheHill

Help for Sound Problems Intel (ICH5/5R) AC'97 [SOLVED]

Post by OverTheHill »

I hope this will help some people. I am new to Linux and recently changed from Maverick to Mint 10. I love LinuxMint and everything was working great until 3 days ago when my sound suddenly stopped working. I had done so many things (tweaks/Program adds/removals) that I wasn't sure what happened. I tried just about everything I came across in the Forums and they didn't work for me. :roll:

Finally, one of the posts lead me to the files where I did find the problem. My ICH5 chip and the codecs had been blacklisted.

My stuff:
Card Intel 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller

Where I found the problems:
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-oss.conf
  • blacklist ac97_codec
    blacklist ac97_plugin_ad1980
/etc/modprobe.d/oss4-base_noALSA.conf
  • blacklist snd-intel8x0
My fix (and it worked) was to simply add an # in front of each of the above blacklist statements. I have no further problems with sound.

Hope this helps someone and saves them some time.
~OverTheHill
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
mads

Re: Help for Sound Problems Intel (ICH5/5R) AC'97

Post by mads »

Hi OverTheHill, and thanks for sharing this.

Just wondering if you have installed OSS4 (it is not installed by default)?
Or, if you have replaced PulseAudio with OSS?

Could you please give some more details about your system (related to sound) prior to this workaround. Thanks.
OverTheHill

Post by OverTheHill »

Thanks,