Daryna KDE + ELISA

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby lanrun on Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:56 am

I have tried Daryna KDE for some days, and think it is a promising system.
However, I downloaded Elisa and tried to get it to run. Well the application starts, but it is impossible to do anything with it. It just hangs.
Since I downloaded this from the software portal, I thought all dependencies should be all right - but can it be something missing?
Anyone else who has tried this out?
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:48 pm

I don't find it in the software portal. Do you mean Synaptic?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby lanrun on Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:48 am

Correct.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby lanrun on Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:27 am

I found ELISA media center available in KPackage.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby Husse on Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:30 am

Hm . Check that GStreamer is installed. It is needed for Elisa to work
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby lanrun on Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:23 pm

KPackage lists a lot of depends for Elisa (under Properties for Elisa), and I checked out that all these are installed.
The applications starts, but it is not possible to use it. It is not possible to shut it down either. (If I could find out the PID, I guess I could kill the process) I have to log out to stop the application as it slows down everything else on my machine.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby Husse on Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:05 am

PID, I guess I could kill the process

Code: Select all
killall Elisa
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna KDE + ELISA

Postby sprint on Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:49 am

lanrun wrote:I have tried Daryna KDE for some days, and think it is a promising system.
However, I downloaded Elisa and tried to get it to run. Well the application starts, but it is impossible to do anything with it. It just hangs.
Since I downloaded this from the software portal, I thought all dependencies should be all right - but can it be something missing?
Anyone else who has tried this out?


They should stop calling it "open source software" because they ask money for the codecs on there website , so this is a commercial trick, out with it !
User avatar
sprint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:49 pm
Location: Kasterlee , Belgium

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests