installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby mercier on Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:56 pm

installed kdenlive 0.5 and grub 3.0.1 from repos.

however, this version of dvgrab has a bug that prevents capturing dv video from camera, so i downloaded dvgrab 3.1 from kdenlive site and followed instructions in the "install" file.
it gives me some errors of diferent files missing, so i install those one by one with synaptic, and "./configure" is done, so is "make", but...

...i get stuck at "make install"
Code: Select all
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/mercier/Downloads/DVgrab3.1/dvgrab-3.1'
/bin/bash ./mkinstalldirs /usr/local/bin
  /usr/bin/install -c dvgrab /usr/local/bin/dvgrab
/usr/bin/install: cannot create regular file `/usr/local/bin/dvgrab': Permission denied
make[1]: *** [install-binPROGRAMS] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/mercier/Downloads/DVgrab3.1/dvgrab-3.1'
make: *** [install-am] Error 2
mercier@mercier-desktop:~/Downloads/DVgrab3.1/dvgrab-3.1$


anyone know what coul'd be the problem, and how to continue form here?

thanx in advance.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby nick on Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:34 pm

Hi

"user" cannot make install, only root can

Code: Select all
sudo make install


Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby mercier on Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:29 pm

nick wrote:Hi

"user" cannot make install, only root can

Code: Select all
sudo make install


Nick


so simple...;)

thanks, mate.

i have a working kdenlive, that captures dv from my panasonic camera. i will post info on how to install the whole thing, tomorrow, if anyone is interested.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby n_gate on Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:13 am

I would love to know the details on how to do this! Thanks in advance! :P
n_gate
 

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby mercier on Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:33 am

n_gate wrote:I would love to know the details on how to do this! Thanks in advance! :P


whoa! that was a week ago - so i forgot.;)

just kiddin'. i will be back home later today, and i'll post the details.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby mercier on Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:52 pm

ok, here goes:

dovnload dvgrab 3.1 from: http://www.kinodv.org/article/static/1

open file, and look for "install" file. open it with text editor and follow instructions in it.

when you get to "make install" you have to type "sudo make install".

when it's done, plug in and switch on your camera and start kdenlive 0.5

under "capture monitor " tab will be red field with text mentioning file dev/raw1394 (either not present or not having permissions).

in terminal type "sudo nautilus", and navigate to folder /dev and search for file raw1394. Right click on it -> properties-> and under permissions give permissions to "other" to read and write.

that should do it.

the file raw1394 is made by your system upon pluging the camera in, so if it's not there, switch on your camera on.

that should work.

hope this helps -this is my first ever tutorial, so forgive if it's not clear enough. ;)

hope this will help you.
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby n_gate on Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:49 pm

Thanks! Got closer, but now I'm seeing an error msg like this at the capture screen:
Too many output file names.
Usage: dvgrab [options] [file] [-]
Try dvgrab --help for more information
pipe:: I/O error occured
Usually that means that input file is truncated and/or corrupted.

Can't seem to get past this. Not sure if my 1394 card is really compatible, although it does show up in the "device manager" hardware list. Need to look for the dvgrab help for clues... Feel like scooby doo...

Larry
n_gate
 

Re: installing dvgrab 3.1 from tar.gz.

Postby mercier on Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:30 am

n_gate wrote:Thanks! Got closer, but now I'm seeing an error msg like this at the capture screen:
Too many output file names.
Usage: dvgrab [options] [file] [-]
Try dvgrab --help for more information
pipe:: I/O error occured
Usually that means that input file is truncated and/or corrupted.

Can't seem to get past this. Not sure if my 1394 card is really compatible, although it does show up in the "device manager" hardware list. Need to look for the dvgrab help for clues... Feel like scooby doo...

Larry


well, that was an error i was receiving BEFORE i installed dvgrab 3.1. ie when i had dvgrab 3.0.1 installed.

are you certain that you have dvgrab 3.1 installed?
mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 7 guests