Cando Multi Touch 10.1 Not Working? >SOLVED<

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Cando Multi Touch 10.1 Not Working? >SOLVED<

Postby linuxtothebone on Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:13 pm

Hi There,

This is my first post hope its in the right place, the touchpad on my gigabyte touch note T1005, intel Atom cpu wont give me any response, the screen on this unit is a touch screen and will respond to touch but i dont use the screen to navigate thats no use to me.

I have tried both mint13 xfce and mint13 xfce and updated each of them once installed but both of them gave me the same results.

In Xfce the "Cando Corporation 10.1 Multi Touch Panel with Controller" shows up under Mouse and Touchpad in Settings menu and appears as enabled. Icant figure it out and had searching the net for a solution.

I dont know where to go from here or other diagnostics i could try and would really appreciate some help.

here is a xinput result....

⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ Cando Corporation Cando 10.1 Multi Touch Panel with Controller id=10 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ SONiX USB Device id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Video Bus id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sleep Button id=9 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sirius USB2.0 Camera id=12 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]


....and a lsusb

Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 5986:0190 Acer, Inc
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 2087:0a01 Cando Multi Touch Panel
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0c45:7401 Microdia



Please help me someone.... Thanks
Last edited by linuxtothebone on Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
linuxtothebone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cando Multi Touch 10.1 Not Working?

Postby remoulder on Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:26 am

Found this for an earlier version of ubuntu/mint, but worth trying.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7669
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Cando Multi Touch 10.1 Not Working?

Postby linuxtothebone on Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:59 am

This workaround did the trick. Unbelievable :o

Thank you very much, it worked! Now Im functional again! This is a friends pc that I have just converted from windoze. I like to promote Linux to everyone who isnt using it.

I will try this same fix on mate13 and Cinamon13 and post the results so anyone encountering this problem with these mint versions has a solution.


Thanks again remoulder :D
linuxtothebone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:42 pm

Re: Cando Multi Touch 10.1 Not Working? >SOLVED<

Postby linuxtothebone on Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:39 am

*** FINAL UPDATE ***

I tried this and it worked although on ubuntu unity it seems to have treated the mouse as a two button and not a scroll if anyone knows how to solve this, please contribute your knowledge. Maybe there is a mouse software/hardware package that can be implemented????

The workaround works with..... Mint13 Maya, Mint13 Cinamon, Mint13 Xfce, Xubuntu 12.04 LTS, Ubuntu Unity 12.04 LTS.

(As a side note I found the Ubuntu Unity Shell total crap, incase someone is thinking of trying it out... dont unless you use another shell, basically it just seems to have a bunch of stuff missing from the interface making configuration and ease of accessing things awkward)


Thanks again Mint forums and remoulder for the great work of knowledge sharing.

Peace.....
Attachments
workaround.pdf
a pdf incase the website page goes down or dissappears
(36.66 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
linuxtothebone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:42 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests