Keyboard stops working after an unknown amount of time

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Keyboard stops working after an unknown amount of time

Postby dredgman on Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:36 pm

I'm dual-booting Daryna KDE and Vista. The last few times I've run Daryna I've had to switch back to windows because my keyboard stops responding. For instance, last night I went to bed running Linux, when I woke up, my keyboard was working fine. I left for school, and when I got back home the keyboard was no longer responding. It is a generic USB keyboard connected to a self-powered hub. Regardless of whether I plug and unpluf the hub or keyboard, or if I plug the keyboard into one of the main USB ports, I still cannot get the keyboard to respond (or even turn caps lock on or off). They keyboard lights up for a brief second and then is useless. Any ideas?
dredgman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Keyboard stops working after an unknown amount of time

Postby dredgman on Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:21 am

It seems to be a problem with a locked session. I'll just make sure to stay away from that.
dredgman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Keyboard stops working after an unknown amount of time

Postby jonson on Tue May 05, 2009 12:18 pm

I am running Felicia.
Just after fresh setup i have updated and restarted mashine
During update there was a question if i want to keep my config for display or smth., i answered yes...
Now during and after (automatic) logging in via graphical interface
keyboard and mouse don't respond. However it seems that system boots and runs normally
(when i press power button on my box, shutdown dialog pop up).

I still can switch and log into system using console (via alt-f1, alt-f2, etc.)
and there everything is ok (keyboard works normally).
I tried regenerating xorg.conf (via dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg) but it didn't help.

Any ideas how to fix this?

Update
fixed this by updating to RC distro
jonson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 11:55 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests