Mint13 Cinnamon 64bit Surround Sound not working, onboard

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint13 Cinnamon 64bit Surround Sound not working, onboard

Postby phelix9 on Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:44 pm

Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 with 3 audio jacks in rear, running Maya 64 bit with Cinnamon, but ran into a problem; due to HDMI output, I apparently have two audio chipsets. One is the 'AMD nee ATI RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 3000-3300 Series]', and the other doesn't even show up as audio in the system information. I know it's Realtek, but the only Realtek device is the ethernet controller; 'RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)'. I have an older Logitech 5.1 surround system that has 3 analog jacks. In Windows, not a problem; the Realtek software detects that I plugged in a device, and asks what the device is. In Linux Mint, I get front audio (L & R), but nothing from the rest. How can I fix this issue?

I am a hardware guy, software is not typically my gig. Consider me smart, but a Linux noob.

This is a multiboot system, and I require Linux to run GRUB, and am attempting a total changeover to Linux, except for my gaming needs (until WINE offers full acceleration for graphics.).

Different note: My CPU is running 3 underclocked cores, and one correct. Why is this?
phelix9
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint13 Cinnamon 64bit Surround Sound not working, onboar

Postby remoulder on Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:43 pm

Have you checked the settings in Sound Preferences under the Hardware and Output tabs?
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Mint13 Cinnamon 64bit Surround Sound not working, onboar

Postby phelix9 on Sat Nov 03, 2012 9:33 am

Yes, indeed I have. I can only get the front speakers working.
phelix9
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:21 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobruzzo, Google [Bot] and 16 guests