hard drive 500gb

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

hard drive 500gb

Postby ggeo on Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:13 am

Hello

I wanted to ask if there will be any problem using a hard drive 500gb sata2

Thanks!
ggeo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:11 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: hard drive 500gb

Postby Fred on Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:24 pm

ggeo,

No problem at all if your motherboard has a sata controller.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: hard drive 500gb

Postby yamawho on Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:43 pm

If your mobo don't have support for sata2, you can still use it by using a jumper on the hdd to make it run at sata speeds.

I do this all the time ...
ImageImage
User avatar
yamawho
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:53 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests