Page 1 of 1

Auto Mount Windows Disks [RESOLVED]

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:44 am
by bitbanger
I have a dual boot system with Mint-13 and Windows XP. I would like to have the two windows disks mounted when Mint-13 boots. There is probably something I could put in the fstable or some similar file.

Any help would be appreciated.

- bitbanger

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:04 am
by lahirdenganselamat
the filename is fstab. There's a lot of articles describing how to edit /etc/fstab so, i think you should give google/ddg a go :D

good luck bitbanger :)

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:23 am
by altair4
Templates!

Here is an NTFS template:

Code: Select all

UUID=DA9056C19056A3B3 /media/WinD ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=000,uid=1000,windows_names 0 0
To use it:

[1] If you currently have the partition mounted unmount it.

[2] Run the following command to get the correct UUID number for your partitions:

Code: Select all

sudo blkid -c /dev/null
[3] Create a permanent home for the partition to live in ( Mount Point ). In this example I used /media/WinD:

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /media/WinD
[4] Edit fstab as root:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/fstab
[5] Add the template with the correct UUID and Mount Point.

[6] Run the following command to test for errors and mount the partition without requiring a reboot:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:37 pm
by bitbanger
Thanks for the replies.

The response from altair4 resolved a problem I was having with the swap file that I didn't know about. Thanks.

Unfortunately, altair4's suggestion didn't work, but I didn't give enough information. The particular situation I have is the Windows XP partitions are "vfat" rather than "ntfs". Even with simple minded modification I still get a failure. Since my directory is "fat32" perhaps linux needs another keyword in the /etc/fstab file. Perhaps the suggested information field that began with "defaults, ... " needs to change because it is not "ntfs".

After a lot of running around I have the following information/questions.

The problem seems to center on the provided mount point directory. When I use the GUI to do the mount, the system won't use these mount points but produces its own. The command "ls -l" identified the directory I produce as root:root where the usable one in owner:owner. A "chown" change doesn't help. The permissions were 766 in my creation but 700 in the usable ones. A"chmod" didn't help. The "ls -l" output also gives the next field after the ownership information as 4096 for my creation and 32768 for the usable directory. I don't know what this means or how to change/create it.

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:23 pm
by altair4
A fat32 template:

Code: Select all

UUID=C4DB-C1B0 /media/WinD vfat defaults,utf8,umask=000,uid=1000 0 2
Note: The permissions of the mount itself always replaces the permissions of the mount point before the mount. That's true for ntfs, fat32, ext4, etc..

Re: Auto Mount Windows Disks [RESOLVED]

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:09 pm
by bitbanger
altair4,

You were right. I forgot that Linux is case sensitive, had hexidecimals in lowercase. Spending too much time in the Windows world. Sorry it took so long to respond, reality keeps interfering with my childhood.

- bitbanger