system sound problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

system sound problem

Postby Helmeci on Thu May 08, 2008 9:47 pm

I dual booted my girlfriends computer vista+mint and everything is working perfect except for the sound. it is an HP laptop model :dv9500 and it has the Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller. it is one of those laptops where it has the blue buttons near the screen that you just tap to use. and the volume control and mute are the same. for some reason when booting into windows sound works fine but when booting into linux the mute button stays orange meaning sound is muted. when pushed linux recognizes it i can adjust the volume and everything looks fine on the screen but the mute button stays orange and i cant hear anything. any advice?
Image
User avatar
Helmeci
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Taji, Iraq

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: system sound problem

Postby Husse on Fri May 09, 2008 6:33 am

This is the dreaded Intel 82801....
Try this
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

with KDE
Code: Select all
kdesu kate etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

add this at the end of the file
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

You can try to change auto to something like HP
Reboot - or reload sound, but I honestly don't know the command
Edited to correct a nasty error - and it should be /etc not etc - but this is kept so the rest of the topic is understandable //husse
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: system sound problem

Postby Helmeci on Fri May 09, 2008 9:10 am

for some reason when i go into the the gedit for modprobe it just brings up a blank page. i try putting the other two things that you said in there and saving it and it says unable to save file doesnt exist.
Image
User avatar
Helmeci
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Taji, Iraq

Re: system sound problem

Postby Husse on Fri May 09, 2008 5:12 pm

I am sorry - I copied the text without noticing that /alsa-base was missing at the end
I have corrected this in the post - try again
(modprobe.d is a folder....)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: system sound problem

Postby Helmeci on Fri May 09, 2008 5:48 pm

okay sorry but i still dont really get it. i typed the first thing into a terminal and it opened a folder. i tried to copy the other two into the folder and save but it wont save. can you give me a step by step on what to do please. lol sorry first time dealing with this.
Image
User avatar
Helmeci
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Taji, Iraq

Re: system sound problem

Postby Husse on Sat May 10, 2008 5:42 am

OK
first in a terminal
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

This file may or may not exist in your system
then paste
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

Save
Done
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: system sound problem

Postby Helmeci on Sat May 10, 2008 1:37 pm

i figured it out instead of
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
it is
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
just the matter of one little / makes a difference. lol. but does it matter where i paste the second part. cause it seems no matter where i put it it doesnt want to work. is there some things i need to delete so it will work?
Image
User avatar
Helmeci
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Taji, Iraq

Re: system sound problem

Postby Husse on Sat May 10, 2008 3:32 pm

just the matter of one little / makes a difference

I really have to apologize - this was copied from an earlier post and I wrongly assumed it to be correct
Put it at the very end
Of course I should see this kind of errors but.....
(And the original post was not by me I think :) Even more important to check )
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: system sound problem

Postby Helmeci on Mon May 12, 2008 12:20 pm

i still cant get it to work correctly. changed the alsa-base folder. even changed it from model=auto to model=hp and tried HP and Hp. i put it at the very end of the file. didnt delete anything else. just added it. any other ideas?
Image
User avatar
Helmeci
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Taji, Iraq

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests