Help with ATI 4250 graphics card

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
shawnw

Help with ATI 4250 graphics card

Post by shawnw »

first I am new to linux so I need to be given instruction like I am a 5 year old. that said here is problem.
I have installed linux mint 14 cinnanim. I then needed to update my ati driver so I found the following intructions on line.
sudo apt-get-repostiory ppa:makson96/fglrx
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install fglrx-legacy

after installion and rebooting everything appeared fine. it thought my panasonic 42" tv was a panasonic 32" tv. but i thought close enough.
but when playing videos (hd or other wise) they seamed to be choppy like low frame rate. And horixontal lines appeard in the videos. So I turned on all the hardware acceleration I could in the ati control console.
It did not help much. so I unstalled those drivers with the following commands
sudo apt-get install ppa-purge
sudo ppa-purge ppa:makson96/fglrx

I then rebooted and installed the ati 12.6 driver with the following commands
sh amd-driver-installer-12.6-legacy-x86.x64-64.run and rebooted.
the ati command console would not work and said the driver may not be working. also it now thought my tv was a laptop display. And it get worse....when i play a video (hd or other wise) the screen goes black and the tv acts like it is not getting any signal anymore. Aslo the sound from the video continues to play. I have to manulally turn off the power and reboot to get the computer back.

confused!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS it only craps out on videos it works pretty good on everything else.
How do I untall these drivers and get some that will work?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
jungle_boy
Level 7