NVIDIA GeForce 610M and Optimus laptop

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

NVIDIA GeForce 610M and Optimus laptop

Postby JWolf on Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:36 pm

Hello to everybody

I have an Asus with a NVIDIA GeForce 610M graphic card, working simultaneously with an Intel GPU (what they call "Optimus" or something similar). This system works properly under windows, but not under Linux. I've read a lot about this subject and I haven't found a solution yet. I'm trying to use the NVIDIA card on Linux Mint 14.

What I've done:

After installing and updating Linux Mint 14, Intel GPU is working and NVIDIA card is not detected, not even the proprietary drivers. Some programs I need don't work properly under Intel GPU and I need the NVIDIA card. I downloaded NVIDIA driver and installed it: http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... river.html

After installing it, the resolution was set to the minimum and I couldn't change it. I ran the nvidia-xconfig to modify the xorg.conf and after that I restarted the X server, but the "Nvidia X server settings" still says that I'm not using the Nvidia graphic card, so I cannot change resolution and any other setting.

I've read about Bumblebee, but everything I read is previous to the release of the Nvidia driver I tried to install. I thought that this driver solved the problem of having two graphic cards, but probably I'm wrong.

Does anyone know how to fix the problem with this graphic card?

Thank you very much in advance.

JWolf.
JWolf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 1:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: NVIDIA GeForce 610M and Optimus laptop

Postby zerozero on Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:46 pm

a slightly different card but similar in the problems it poses, see this topic http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=118284&hilit=bumblebee#p687707
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: NVIDIA GeForce 610M and Optimus laptop

Postby JWolf on Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:18 pm

Thank you very much, zerozero.

I finally succeded in installing bumblebee and using Nvidia card just for the programs I want, but I'm not able to use the nvidia settings for resolution and other parameters...

I'm happy with that, but if I could use the nvidia settings it will be perfect.

Thanks again!
JWolf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 1:02 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: michaelltaylor, rwright88 and 11 guests