Broadcom & LM5

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Broadcom & LM5

Postby Clint on Sat May 17, 2008 1:30 pm

Hi all,

after several days of trying with LM5 I could not get my Broadcom Airforce 1 wireless card working at all. All worked fine in LM4, I even did a hard drive install and wiped my LM4 out and it still did not work. The restricted drivers loaded ok, I could see my network, but it just would not connect. I have had help from one person, and thanks very much to him, but it still does not work.

I downloaded Ubuntu 8.04 and it worked fine, I really cannot see why it does not work in LM5, i will keep trying and post any results on here, if anyone would like further info then please contact me.

thanks mint team

clint
Clint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Broadcom & LM5

Postby Husse on Sat May 17, 2008 2:09 pm

What's the lspci for that card?
Is it
14e4:4318 (rev 02)
then step 2a in
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiD ... ca757b2851
would work
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Broadcom & LM5

Postby Clint on Sun May 18, 2008 3:03 am

HI,

lspci as follows

06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)

and i did try 2a, still not working

thanks anway

Clint
Clint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:59 pm

Re: Broadcom & LM5

Postby Husse on Sun May 18, 2008 7:13 am

Sorry you have to take two steps
first lspci
Which in your case gave
06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
then lspci -n to find the pci id
You get a list with lines like this
00:06.0 0101: 10de:0053 (rev f2)
find 06:02.0 in the first column. Then you get the pci id in the last column
You use that pci id to select the proper step 2
If that's 2a then we have to use something else
But it is important that you do all steps exactly as described (except for creating a folder in home)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

cron