Page 1 of 1

Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:42 pm
by Redsandro
I have learned in the Wacom Bamboo Pen and Touch tablet HOW TO how to assign keypresses to my tablet buttons.

Hoewever, my Bamboo has 4 buttons and I can only set 3 buttons of which only 2 actually work.

Code: Select all

$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 0 "key SHIFT Z" // failed
Invalid offset into Wacom Button Actions property.
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 1 "key SHIFT O" // SET!
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 2 "key SHIFT T" // SET but won't work
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 3 "key SHIFT R" // SET!
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 4 "key SHIFT F" // failed
Unsupported offset into 'Wacom Button Actions' property.
$ ORORORORORROORRORORRORRORORORRORORRRRROOOORRRRORRROR
Button 1 and 3 in xsetwacom are the 1st and 4th button on my tablet.
  1. How can I set the other two buttons?
  2. How can I set mouse button presses? I would like to attach right- and double-click to the other two buttons.

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:46 pm
by Favux
Sure. They (Chris) changed the button assignments for the BambooPT in the kernel a while ago so the physical button numbers don't correspond to the X button numbers. See the BambooPT HOW TO part V. or the updated BambooPT HOW TO.

More on xsetwacom scripts: http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/l ... figuration from: http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/l ... gory:HOWTO

The Wacom tablet app. is a plug-in to System Settings or the Gnome Control Panel that's why it is not available separately. See the gear icon top right of your screen in Unity. Since you are using Mint you've got a bit more to do. The Mint dev.s hid it for some reason. We found out how to fix that: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 8&t=117690 But because the buttons are out of order the Wacom applet didn't work for them anyway although I think that is fixed in the most recent version. So Mint 15 I suppose.

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:59 pm
by Redsandro
Thank you! Got the keys figured out.

I wasn't able to find instructions for adding clicks to the buttons though.

Summary for people who got here with the same problem: Key mappings have changed.

Code: Select all

physical Button 1    internal Button 1
physical Button 2    internal Button 9
physical Button 3    internal Button 8
physical Button 4    internal Button 3
Try this to see what's what:

Code: Select all

xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 1 "key 1"
xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 9 "key 2"
xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 8 "key 3"
xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 3 "key 4"

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:27 pm
by Favux
For click just use the number.
1 = left click
2 = middle click
3 = right click

As in Button 1 3 to make button 1 right click.

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:06 pm
by Redsandro
This doesn't seem to work.

$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 9 3
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 8 3

I don't get clicks. Assigning a keypress does work.

$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 8 "key 2"
$ xsetwacom set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 4x5 Finger pad" Button 9 "key 3"

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:41 pm
by Favux
Hmm. That would seem to be new.

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:11 am
by Redsandro
Oh yeah sorry for the confusion, I mean I get actual keypresses "232323" in a text editor. That is not new, it has always been "key K".
I still need to find a way to do those mouse button presses.

My example was ambiguous because I was so clever to use number keys as an example. :mrgreen:

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:06 pm
by Favux
Now that is strange.

Suddently using the corresponding mouse button # 1,2, or 3 doesn't work for me either. And messing with xsetwacom set and get commands broke my actual mouse buttons. Had to hot plug the BambooPT.

This is in Precise 12.04 and xf86-input-wacom-0.18.0. Which version of Mint and xf86-input-wacom do you have, 0.17.0?

Code: Select all

xsetwacom -V
Either doing something silly or a bug has been introduced. Time to start scanning through the commits in the repo. :(

Edit: OK they did break the pad buttons on the way to 0.18.0 with: http://linuxwacom.git.sourceforge.net/g ... a4ac50b19c Then fixed it with: http://linuxwacom.git.sourceforge.net/g ... 78f28ffc42

Could it have been an incomplete fix?

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:14 am
by Redsandro
Sorry for the delay, just got back to my office computer (with the Bamboo and the Mint) :mrgreen:

$ lsb_release -d && echo Setwacom : `xsetwacom -V`
Description: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Setwacom : 0.17.0


So I got Ubuntu 12.10, but it also comes with 0.17 in stead of 0.18?

Either way, let's see if I can force an update.

-edit-

Do you think this could do the trick?
Or is the kernel module unrelated to this specific issue, worst case I break stuff by going offroad with Ubuntu's default packages?

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wacom/LatestDriver

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:06 pm
by Favux
Don't follow those instructions. They are very old and outdated. Heck it is telling you to install linuxwacom not xf86-input-wacom. So almost 3 years out of date. If you wanted to update xf86-input-wacom (the xorg-xserver-input-wacom package) use: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=110408 or the Linux Wacom HOW TO.

Since you are using the default 0.17.0, if there is a bug, it was introduced before 0.18.0. That's what I wanted to find out. You could try updating to 0.19.0 and see if it fixes things. There are some more pad fixes. Not sure if they're relevant though. I'll probably try 0.19.0 and maybe also clone the repo. What I'm hoping to do is avoid a git dissection. I'm feeling lazy (under the weather) so haven't checked other releases or anything to see if I'm just doing something silly. I should also check if my older BambooPT now has the same problem. I guess I'll have to wait until I feel motivated to look into this.

Re: Wacom Bamboo has 4 buttons.. How can I set them?

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:18 pm
by Redsandro
Well thanks for pointing this out either way! At least it's not me.
I just dug up a bone, but you seem to know a valuable lot about it. :)
Get well soon!