Canon LBP5000 doesn't respond

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Canon LBP5000 doesn't respond

Postby Nestor_83 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:16 pm

hello guys..

just for the record i have to say i am a newbee and terrible with linux, so more then copy paste, you cannot expect from me :D


so here is my problem: i have created my own pc, cause i tought it would be fun. i use:

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 450 Processor
GPU: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880 [Radeon HD 4250]
Audio: HDA ATI SB(HDA Intel ALSA hardware specific Device)
Audio: RS880 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4200 Series]
(Audo: + a thoutand drivers i cannot really understand, but at least it works now :) )
Network: AR5416 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008 802.11(a)bgn]
Network: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller

i have installed linux mint 14 kde 64bit.


so after fixing the hdmi audio bug from nvidia (don't ask me how i did it, but i did it :) ) i have on really annoying problem left:


it is my Canon LBP5000!
problem is, i have downloaded the drivers, i have made a .deb file out of the .rmp files with alien and installed them. so now i can see the printer in my system settings.
i have the device on my devicelist

Code: Select all
helloworld@BlackBeauty ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 046d:0823 Logitech, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04a9:2679 Canon, Inc. CAPT Device
Bus 007 Device 002: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 009 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub


so everything seems fine to me.

and now i only want to print a page.... problem: there is no response from the printer at all! the print queue is listing the jobs and they are stopped right now... when i want resume, nothing happens either...

so guys, please for dummies, how do i fix this problems, i really dont want to go back to MS just because of this problem, so help me please !

greetings


by the way: really nice job. kde is a beautiful system, i really like it...
Nestor_83
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:27 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Canon LBP5000 doesn't respond

Postby jsplicer on Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:49 pm

In the print queue, did you try to delete the stopped job. sometimes a job will get corrupted in the queue, and deleting it solces the problem.

If you go into your menu/administration/printers...a window should pop up with your printer listed with a check mark in it to let you know the printer is set up properly. If that is the case then I would concentrate in the printer queue, which has nothing really to do with linux, you have a queue in every OS..

John
OS: Linux Mint 17 KDE
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Rev. 1.6 FE BIOS
CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz.
Memory: GSkill: 4 GB DDR2 800 MHz.
GPU: PCI-E 3 NVidia GEFORCE GTX 650 DDR 5, 1GB Ram
Drives: Int: 120 GiB SSD Samsumg REVO, 500 GiB WD HDD, Ext: USB 2 500 GiB HDD
jsplicer
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:39 pm

Re: Canon LBP5000 doesn't respond

Postby Nestor_83 on Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:03 am

jsplicer wrote:In the print queue, did you try to delete the stopped job. sometimes a job will get corrupted in the queue, and deleting it solces the problem.

If you go into your menu/administration/printers...a window should pop up with your printer listed with a check mark in it to let you know the printer is set up properly. If that is the case then I would concentrate in the printer queue, which has nothing really to do with linux, you have a queue in every OS..

John



first of all thanks for the answer...

my tree looks a bit dfferent SystemSettings/Hardware/Printers .. but i guess it is the same.. yes here is the picture of a printer, even though it is not mine, where before there was non.. and there are all possible optins, like the print queue, settings, and a few checkboxes..
and of course i tried all this, i stopped, i loaded different files, i tried to print the test-page i tried to print the selftestpage, i tried it with pdf fiels and odt files.. result ---> nothing..

its really a wierd problem.. and i hope i get some more input to solve it :D

the problem is this printer costed around €200 and so i cannot just get a new one...
Nestor_83
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:27 am

Re: Canon LBP5000 doesn't respond

Postby Nestor_83 on Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:07 am

@admis

can you maybe forward this topic in the printer section.. i didnt see there is one. :) thanks..
Nestor_83
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:27 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tazdrumm3r and 12 guests