Bad screen resolution and very slow internet

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
whitey_7

Bad screen resolution and very slow internet

Post by whitey_7 »

Hello Everyone.

This is my first post on the forum, and im completely new to linux mint.

I have previously used linux ubuntu, which i have on the laptop i am using now, but i also had it on my pc tower, both of these worked fine. The problem started when i had to upgrade the version of ubuntu on my PC tower, when i ran the new version the internet run slow to almost a complete stop. So i chose to give linux mint a go hoping that it would have this problem.

I downloaded the linux mint version 14, 32 bit, just the normal version i think!. But i after i installed it i ran it on the tower pc, and tested it on the internet to find that it is running very slowly and sometimes goes to a complete stop. The other problem that was immediately apparent is that the screen resolution does not look clear, the text appears to have a kind of white halo around it, the whole thing looks awful.

At the moment i am using linux ubuntu on my laptop, and the internet speed is fine, so i know that theres nothing wrong with my router etc.

If i need to provide any other details im happy to do so, but i may need help in finding out how to provide those details.

I hope this is just a few tweaks, any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
bigj231

Re: Bad screen resolution and very slow internet

Post by bigj231 »

you will need to use inxi to give us info on your system. The command you want to use first is:

Code: Select all

inxi -h
That will tell you how the inxi command works.