Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Tanc on Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:27 pm

Hi guys,

I searched this topic before I started a new topic. Results:
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=10049&p=62150&hilit=X300+Latitude#p62150
viewtopic.php?f=49&t=10640&p=66181&hilit=X300+Latitude#p66181

well, what made me additionally open a topic is, that I know that it can work and in the old topic they use older versions of mint. I used ubuntu ultimate for a few months before I installed the new Mint. With ubuntu ultimate based on Feisty Fawn the laptop didn't freeze on closing the lid. It just normally turned off the monitor and locked the screen. On opening, everything was ok, but the suspend to ram function didn't worked.
Now, in Mint 5 the suspend to ram function work, after removing of compiz. Closing the lid causes a freezed screen, with the background of the boot splash.
I know from the older topics that the problem is within the ACPI but why does it work with a normal Ubuntu and not with Mint Linux ?

I'm a newbie in linux and it would be great if someone could help me with this problem.
Tanc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:31 pm

The difference in behavior between Feisty and Elyssa is due to different kernels
Does it freeze if you close the lid even after it has suspended?
And what is
"When the suspend button is pressed" in Power management set to?
That is the lid button....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Tanc on Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:16 pm

When the suspend button is pressed, it goes into Standby. The suspend mode works fine as well. When it goes into Standby, and I close the lid and reopen it, the laptop starts fine, without pressing the power button.
Now, the suspend fn-key works, but if I close the lid it only turns off the screen, what is done fine, but when the lid is opened again, the screen freezes.
Tanc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:54 am

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:36 am

I'm sorry I think you have to describe it again I simply can't follow you....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Tanc on Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:51 am

Ok, when I close the lid of the laptop it should only turn off the screen, but the laptop should still be on. I used that option in the settings for the lid. Suspend to ram works fine, as well as standby, after removing of compiz.
I attached 2 Images to explain the problem better. The first shows the closed lid and that the laptop still runs.
The second shows the screen after opening the lid.
pic22.jpg
pic22.jpg (40.34 KiB) Viewed 684 times
pic33.jpg
pic33.jpg (119.28 KiB) Viewed 684 times
Tanc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:54 am

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:09 pm

That's a well known graphical error - can happen on any hardware
Do you happen to have ATI graphics?
This is the graphics card that's angry because you woke it up :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Tanc on Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:42 pm

The laptop has an integrated intel graphic chipset, but I don't know the right name of it. Is there a way to find the name with the shell?
Tanc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:54 am

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby Husse on Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:00 am

If you run lspci you get a nice list (ls) of everything on the pci bus
The command ls can be combined with just about anything lsusb, lsmod.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby thehum on Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:55 pm

Tanc, I also have a Dell X300 and have the same exact problem you're having with Ubuntu 8.04-found this thread googling for a solution. The video chipset is an Intel 855GM. I have no idea what to do about it either. I've tried changing the function of closing the lid in power settings to no avail.

I did notice that if I clicked around a bit I could get the screen back on, but i think it's because I moved the mouse to the upper right corner and managed to blindly click on the power/suspend button.

I'll keep searching, but in the meantime, any other ideas? thanks.
thehum
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:50 pm

Re: Closing Lid on Dell X300 Latitude causes error

Postby thehum on Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:18 pm

Well after some searching I found people have said that the newest intel driver causes this problem.This page says a workaround is to simply use the older i810 driver by specifying it in XORG.conf.

I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 on my x300, not Mint, but I had the same screen you had when using 8.04 and it went away after switching to i810. I can now close my lid just fine. cheers!
thehum
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests