Low sound, then no sound

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Low sound, then no sound

Postby appleblossombeck on Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:54 pm

Hi everyone. I'm very, very new to Linux and so I have no idea how to fix this problem, except to ask people. So, when I first installed Elyssa on my macbook, the sound played at what seem like normal volumes in Amarok, but when I tried to watch videos with VLC, I could barely hear anything. So I looked around on the forums, found out the thing about Intel sound cards having problems and a fix, tried that, restarted...and now I have no audio at all! Not with my laptop speakers or external speakers or headphones. Can anyone please help me?
appleblossombeck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby Husse on Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:02 am

Welcome to Mint appleblossombeck
You can't expect us to help you based on this post
Please tell us which fix you used and what hardware you have
You can run lspci in a terminal and post the result here (preferably using the Code option)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby appleblossombeck on Tue Jun 24, 2008 6:23 pm

Sorry, Husse. From the posts I found it seemed like this problem was commonplace enough that I didn't need to be more specific. Here you go:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:07.0 Performance counters: Intel Corporation Unknown device 27a3 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 22)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
03:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW323 (rev 61)


The fix I used was the one where I add
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack
to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base. Thanks for your time.
appleblossombeck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby Husse on Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:31 am

This is ICH7 - pitty
There are solutions for ICH8, but they may work for ICH7
There is a topic titled something like
A solution for sound with ICH8 on a laptop
If you find it there is at least one possible solution
I'm sorry but I'm running out of time and it was not were I expected it to be
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby appleblossombeck on Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:52 pm

That's ok, thank you for your help Husse.

I really hope someone can help though, because I still can't find anything that tells me enough to fix this,and not having sound really stinks.
appleblossombeck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:28 am

I'll get back to you tomorrow or at least in the weekend
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby appleblossombeck on Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:00 pm

Thank you! I very much appreciate all your efforts. I myself am taking care of a farm for this week, and so can understand being too busy for the internets.
appleblossombeck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby Husse on Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:48 am

All these are to be added to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
Found it I think - I knew it but I have to check the spelling
options snd-hda-intel model=acer

Instead of acer you put what you have - very similar to what you tried
There is also this one
http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=10607
There I added index=0 to the above line
This is another
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

At least you have something to try
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low sound, then no sound

Postby appleblossombeck on Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:20 am

Huzzah! This one worked:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=apple
--I used Apple, restarted, was very upset and disappointed, opened volume control to be sure and turned up everything in it and boo-ya, I had sound! Thank you so, so much Husse. I had been just getting to the point where I was about to give up on Mint and go back to OS X. Now if I can just get my headphone jack to work and my iPod to sync, I'll be set... ;-)
appleblossombeck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jeenuv and 12 guests