No Sound, Daryna

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No Sound, Daryna

Postby jokersloose on Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:44 am

Hey all,

A friend of mine has a Dell 2400 that was off the net for about 3 months. So I run the updates and now I have no sound. It worked before and I am at a loss as to what to look at next. I have checked

alsamixer: nothing mutted
System sound: not mutted
Even restarted the sound in terminal still nothing
Restart of the OS does nothing either.

Out put of lspci -v is:

Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device 0160
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
I/O ports at ee00 [size=256]
I/O ports at edc0 [size=64]
Memory at feb7fa00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]
Memory at feb7f900 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
Capabilities:


Can someone help me with the next step to trouble shot.

Thanks,

James
User avatar
jokersloose
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: Laramie, WY

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No Sound, Daryna

Postby 67GTA on Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:08 am

You might try resetting the default card. Sometimes a kernel update can mess with the modules. Open a terminal and run
Code: Select all
sudo alsaconf
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: No Sound, Daryna

Postby jokersloose on Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:33 pm

OK tried that and it told me "no such command" or something to that effect. Next?

Also, I know it's me being stupid. But my laptop has been running with zero issues so I can't seem to remember things like I did when I first installed. When she minamizes a window it drops behind her task bar. If we hit ALT+Tab we can pull them back up. But she wants it back to where she can see them in her task bar. I have looked in the Control Panel and looked under the things that I thought would apply to the desktop but like I said just being stupid I guess. How do I fix that as well?

James
User avatar
jokersloose
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: Laramie, WY


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas and 8 guests