Setting up Atheros wireless card

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby badmotor on Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:22 am

I was following this guide (which I have used in the past successfully) http://www.ubuntugeek.com/atheros-5007e ... tform.html
and I got the following message:

Setting up build-essential (11.3ubuntu1) ...
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Reading extended state information
Initializing package states... Done
Writing extended state information... Done
Building tag database... Done
todd@todd-laptop ~/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007 $ sudo make install
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
todd@todd-laptop ~/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007 $

anyone know what this means?
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby proxima_centauri on Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:31 am

Did you run "make" before "sudo make install"?
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby badmotor on Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:31 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:Did you run "make" before "sudo make install"?


Yes, I got this:
todd@todd-laptop ~/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007 $ make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
todd@todd-laptop ~/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007 $ sudo make install
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
todd@todd-laptop ~/madwifi-ng-r2756+ar5007 $
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Re: Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby badmotor on Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:55 pm

It seems I have been following some outdated instructions. Back to the drawing board.
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Re: Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby proxima_centauri on Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:01 am

Yes I reaize that too, the only thing in that tarball is a readme file, which will instruct you to a newer version of madwifi, try doing that perhaps.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Setting up Atheros wireless card

Postby badmotor on Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:31 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:Yes I reaize that too, the only thing in that tarball is a readme file, which will instruct you to a newer version of madwifi, try doing that perhaps.


Yeah, tried that and it ran fine but wireless never started.
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hotpepperguy, SJLPHI and 24 guests