HP TX1000 (1080ea) Suspend Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

HP TX1000 (1080ea) Suspend Problem

Postby oddsprite on Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:12 pm

Hello,
I've recently discovered Linux Mint and it's quickly become by OS of choice. I was particularly impressed by how easy it was to install on my tx1000 ( a notoriously Linux unfriendly laptop). Graphics, wifi, sound all worked 'out of the box', however the suspend function is broken.

The laptop gets into the low power state, the problem occurs when trying to resume. The laptop appears to power up, but there is just a black screen, no input works and the only option is to power the laptop off via the power switch. I've searched these forums but there wasn't any info relating to this particular laptop model. Any ideas?

Kind Regards,
oddSprite
oddsprite
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: HP TX1000 (1080ea) Suspend Problem

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:55 pm

Welcome to Mint oddSprite
Suspend and hibernate are notoriously hard to get to work - I would go for normal shutdown which in my experience is also safer
Performance after suspend (and in Win too) is a bit shaky in my experience....
Sorry that you did not get an answer, but it's hard when it's wake up that don't work ...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: HP TX1000 (1080ea) Suspend Problem

Postby oddsprite on Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:41 am

Thanks for the reply.
Thankfully boot/shutdown times aren't crippling like they are with vista, so I guess I can suffer it :)

oddsprite
oddsprite
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:58 pm

Re: HP TX1000 (1080ea) Suspend Problem

Postby Husse on Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:58 am

hmm
I have a HP 530 with Vista on it (if it's there when I buy it it can stay ....) and the boot makes me nervous - has it crashed... no it's just a blank screen.... :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests