broadcom driver

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

broadcom driver

Postby what on Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:09 pm

hello i am a noob to linux and have been trying to to setup my Broadcom wireless for a couple of weeks now. after scouring the net & trying many options with no luck i figured i should try just asking for help. i have an HP Pavillion dv2736 laptop with a Broadcom 4310 chipset. I am trying to run Linux Mint 5 XFCE version. I went to my menue in Mint to System>Windows Wireless to to install my driver. i am trying to use bcmwl6.inf for this install. the windows wireless window shows that the hardware is present & i made sure wireless was enabled under the hardware drivers screen. the bcmwl6 folder is present in /ect/ndiswrapper but when I use ndiswapper -l no drivers are listed. I read that Broadcom must have firmware to work and the only solution i can find is to use fwcutter. but from what i understand fwcutter & ndiswrapper don't play nice i would like to stick with ndiswrapper because i read it is more stable than fwcutter. as i said i am new to this so please assume i am doing everything wrong. thanks.
what

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: broadcom driver

Postby premiumalex on Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:24 pm

Here's some places to look:
http://linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/MintWifi
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/bcm43xx/
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/index.php?/component/option,com_openwiki/Itemid,33/id,list_b/, number 42

However, This is a personal suggestion, and I'm not sure how it'll work in your case because I have a Broadcom 4318 and not a 4310.

I recently switched to Mint from Ubuntu, and the consensus over there was that b43-fwcutter was the way to go. I've never had problems with it, it's incredibly easy to set up, and you can always go the ndiswrapper route if things don't work out.

It's as easy as
Code: Select all
sudo apt install b43-fwcutter