Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Postby rmuccioli on Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:28 pm

I have an Acer 3050 and from what I can tell the microphone is not working? I'm trying to use Skype and have not been able to do to what I believe to be a microphone issue.

The 2nd issues is what web cam works best with Linux Elyssa. Again this is to be used with skype. I'm to be deployed to Iraq and would like to use Skype to communicate with my family

Thanks
Linux rules! Vista you know?
User avatar
rmuccioli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:06 pm

Webcams have perhaps the worst support of all hardware in Linux
This page gives you lots of info
http://www.linux.com/base/ldp/howto/Web ... tml#MODELS
You have to scroll down a bit to find some models
Have you checked all settings for sound so that the mike is not muted
Double click the volume applet next to the clock and examine the mixer that appears as well as Sound in the Control center
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Postby rmuccioli on Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:13 pm

Still looking at the web cams. If any one can recommend one let me know.
As far as the mic I have everything mic related turned on and unmuted but still the mic does not work... :cry:
Linux rules! Vista you know?
User avatar
rmuccioli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:37 pm

Re: Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Postby rmuccioli on Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:25 pm

I figured it out.
After double clicking on the volume applet, edit, preferences I had to activate capture and digital. Then under the volume controls a new tab appeared were i was able to un-mute the microphone and now it all works.
User avatar
rmuccioli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:37 pm

Re: Acer 3050 Microphone / Web Cam / Skype / Iraq deplyment

Postby Husse on Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:01 pm

Glad you fixed it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Soapm and 18 guests