Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby garda on Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:02 am

Hi everyone,

I've just tried running Linux Mint 5 R1 through the live cd (haven't installed it on my HDD yet). Overall, I must say that I'm fairly fascinated by this distro and am dying to install it on my machine. There's, however, one problem: I don't seem to be able to use the shortcut keys and multimedia controls of my keyboard (Logitech Cordless Elite, which is part of the Logitech Cordless MX Duo package). I've tried changing keyboard layout setting to all of the available Logitech products listed there to no avail, although some options do seem to make the mute key and volume control work. But still, that's currently the furthest I can get with my limited Linux skills.

Both the mouse and keyboard are connected directly to the respective PS/2 ports (no adapters/converters involved).

Can anyone shed some light on how to get those shortcut keys and multimedia controls of my keyboard fully operational under Mint 5? I'm desperately in need of some assistance.

P.S.: In case it's required, some pictures of the MX Duo package are available here: http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/mxduo/index2.php
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:06 am

I have a similar cordless Logitech without any problems - all buttons work
You may have to go to Control Center > Keyboard shortcuts > Select operation - like open browser > Press the browser key on the keyboard and you will probably find that there is a new setting
You write
connected directly to the respective PS/2 ports

but it is a wireless?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby garda on Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:11 am

Husse wrote:I have a similar cordless Logitech without any problems - all buttons work
You may have to go to Control Center > Keyboard shortcuts > Select operation - like open browser > Press the browser key on the keyboard and you will probably find that there is a new setting
You write
connected directly to the respective PS/2 ports

but it is a wireless?


Sorry about that and thanks for the heads up. I actually wanted to say "The base station's (receiver's) mouse and keyboard cables are connected directly to the respective PS/2 ports (no converters or adapters involved)".

Anyway, thank you for your response. I'll try it ASAP and see whether it works for me.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby garda on Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:12 am

I've managed to assign the shortcut keys and multimedia controls of my keyboard in Mint 5 per Husse's instruction above. But now I want to know how to add new assignments onto the shortcuts list. Take, for example, I want to add 'Open instant messaging' and map it to any shortcut keys I wish which, when pressed, opens Pidgin or any other IM clients. Anyone knows how to make it happen?
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:15 pm

Did you post separately about this?
I'm working on it - it does not want to behave as it should on my machine and I don't give the solution until I'm satisfied it works
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech Cordless MX Duo Problem

Postby garda on Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:03 pm

Did you post separately about this?


Yes, I apparently did. I posted the question here first but then I thought it fit better on a new thread.

I'm working on it - it does not want to behave as it should on my machine and I don't give the solution until I'm satisfied it works


Oh, that's a one bad news. But I look forward to your solution. Thanks again for your reply.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Revolt42 and 12 guests