Acer Aspire One

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Acer Aspire One

Postby donec on Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:20 pm

Has anyone tried an Acer Aspire One and have you tried it with Mint?
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM16 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby Helmsdeeper on Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:27 am

I tried one the other day over at Circuit City, the linux version not the xp one. Overall I was very impressed with it. Frankly I think it has one of the best keyboards I've seen on one of the mini's, has a good feel to it not cramped or spongy. Screen is very clear and bright. I am not too crazy about the touchpad but that's not a huge issue for me. It comes with Linpus lite which is Fedora based. I also like the fact it has two memory card slots, one slot being totally dedicated to expanding the 8gb ssd space. The salesguy put a 8gb sd card in the slot (left side) to show me and instantly it showed 16gb all the same drive, not two separate drives.

The biggest drawback in my book was their lack of an access panel underneath to add extra ram, it comes with 512mb and can go up to 1.5gb. When I got home I looked up some Aspire One videos on youtube on how to add ram. Oh my gosh what a nightmare :shock: . You literally have to disassemble the entire notebook to access the available ram slot underneath the motherboard :( . Then you get to put it all back and hope all those tiny cables you unplugged are seated right let alone the ram be good. Watch one of the videos and you'll see what I mean.

Overall however, the price is right, the hardware - processor, wireless, webcam etc are basically the same as the other comparable minis out there. I am seriously considering getting one for either my oldest daughter or even myself.
Helmsdeeper
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:24 am

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby aj_nc on Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:38 pm

I just tried, and it wouldn't boot. Ubunutu & Xubuntu 8.04.1 did, however.

Short summary ... I created a LiveUSB for Mint-5-r1, using unetbootin to create each of the flash devices.

When I booted Mint, it failed, with the following information displayed:
Code: Select all
udevd-event[1436]: run_program: '/sbin/modprobe' abnormal exit

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of buit-in commands.

(initramfs)

The LiveUSB for Mint booted in my laptop.

Ubuntu & Xubuntu, did however, boot. I believe the reason for this can be found here, where they state that explicitly that Ubuntu 8.04 will not boot, that 8.04.1 is required; the pre-requirements state:
A copy of 8.04.1 Hardy Heron.
This is the latest version. If you downloaded the ISO a while ago, it may be 8.04.0. The original 8.04.0 release will not even boot.

I believe Mint 5-r1 is still based on the original Ubuntu 8.04, so I don't think Mint will run until a new LiveCD version is made.
I can say that Ubuntu seems to run quite well on the Aspire One. Even some of the compiz effects are on by default.

At this point, I'm going to have to follow the full set of Ubuntu instructions, and really test it out. Hopefully there will be a refreshed version of Mint in the near future that I could try.

Cheers,
AJ
aj_nc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:33 pm

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:39 pm

You are correct the Main 5R1 is 8.04 and not 8.04.1.
Main 5R2 sould be updated to 8.04.1, clem is waiting for flash 10 final to be released 1st.
The XFCE CE and KDE CE are updated to 8.04.1.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby aj_nc on Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:32 am

Thanks for the info, merlwiz. I'll give one of the CE versions a go to test it out, and watch for the Main 5R2 update, as that is my preference from the Mint family.
aj_nc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:33 pm

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby wuying_ren on Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:25 am

Hi!

I've received my AAO recently and both Mint 5 KDE and XFCE CE work. I didn't tried the Main edition. As aj_nc stated, you just have to create a LiveUSB using unetbootin. KDE CE was a bit slow so I tried XFCE (Linpus, the pre-installed distro, uses it as well) and it works great even with compiz.

There are some hardware issues but most of them have now a workaround. You can use this guide from Ubuntu, it worked for me: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne
"Try not. Do, or do not, there is no try." - Master Yoda

[Howto] Encrypt your system!
[Howto] Fbcondecor on Mint
User avatar
wuying_ren
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:59 am
Location: Catalunya

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby Helmsdeeper on Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:22 pm

I just ordered 2 of them off of Amazon.com for my daughters in high school. Looking forward to trying them out.
Helmsdeeper
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:24 am

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby AK Dave on Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:05 pm

XFCE CE on an Aspire One would be very sweet.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby donec on Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:40 am

The worst thing about the Acer Aspire One Linux version is as it comes it is very anemic in the software area and to add more software you need to do a little terminal work to hack into the advance features. Once you do this then you end up using, I think, XFCE from a right click on the desktop. Here is a link to a tutorial on how to access the advance features....
http://www.laptopmag.com/advice/how-to/aspire-one-apps.aspx?step=1
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM16 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby wuying_ren on Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:47 am

donec wrote:The worst thing about the Acer Aspire One Linux version is as it comes it is very anemic in the software area and to add more software you need to do a little terminal work to hack into the advance features. Once you do this then you end up using, I think, XFCE from a right click on the desktop. Here is a link to a tutorial on how to access the advance features....
http://www.laptopmag.com/advice/how-to/aspire-one-apps.aspx?step=1


The fact is that you can use Alt+F2 as normal, and access a terminal (executing xterm or terminal). Then, you can install whatever you want with yum from this terminal, it uses Fedora repos (Fedora 8, I think). And with this little hack you can then have access to all the apps from the menu. Linpus is actually the faster Linux distro on the Aspire One, and it has no hardware issues. It's a bit restrictive but, at least, they allow you to install almost anything.

I want to share some links with you, they have lots of tricks and information about the One. Here they are, maybe you already knew about them :) :

http://www.aspireoneuser.com/
http://macles.blogspot.com/
http://jorge.ulver.no/2008/08/06/acer-aspire-one-tips-and-tricks//

Have fun!
"Try not. Do, or do not, there is no try." - Master Yoda

[Howto] Encrypt your system!
[Howto] Fbcondecor on Mint
User avatar
wuying_ren
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:59 am
Location: Catalunya

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby AK Dave on Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:20 pm

I'm mildly put off from the Aspire One due to the problem with upgrading RAM. I'm seriously considering the Dell Ubuntu model with upgrade to 1gb/8gb, but the 512k/8gb Aspire One. Any word on REAL WORLD battery life on the Aspire One?

This is what I'm considering:
http://www.amazon.com/Acer-Aspire-8-9-i ... 490&sr=8-2
VS:
http://www.dell.com/content/products/pr ... ref=homepg
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby wuying_ren on Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:30 am

The 3-cell battery of my One it's about 1,5-2 hours. But there's a 6-cell battery projected .
"Try not. Do, or do not, there is no try." - Master Yoda

[Howto] Encrypt your system!
[Howto] Fbcondecor on Mint
User avatar
wuying_ren
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:59 am
Location: Catalunya

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby donec on Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:13 am

wuying_ren wrote:The 3-cell battery of my One it's about 1,5-2 hours. But there's a 6-cell battery projected .
The 3 cell last about 2.5 hrs for me and the 6 cell battery is already being sold in Canada.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM16 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby trigal on Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:00 pm

same problem on MSI U100... now i'm trying with XFCE CE

:? :? :?
I have no idea what the hell I am saying. I just thought it would make me sound cool.
User avatar
trigal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:56 pm

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby donec on Sat Sep 13, 2008 7:44 pm

I have been trying to get a different distro of Linux from Linpus to run on my AA1 (Acer Aspire One) and having problems. However! I tried OneLinux from....
http://onelinux.org/index.php
And it work right out of the box for everything I have tried except hibernation which works but not properly.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM16 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby aj_nc on Sat Sep 27, 2008 3:28 pm

I had Ubuntu 8.04.1 on the Aspire One for a while, but as I like Mint, I thought I'd try Mint XCFE CE. I have it installed now. Before I go and run all the Ubuntu-based tweaks, I need to change the display settings. It seems like all I can get at the moment is 800x600, not the native 1024x600. Any pointers?

Update: User error. It was at 1024x600. Just that the icons were so large, I was fooled into thinking it was running at 800x600. :?
Last edited by aj_nc on Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
aj_nc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:33 pm

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby alexandrei on Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:00 am

aj_nc wrote:When I booted Mint, it failed, with the following information displayed:
Code: Select all
udevd-event[1436]: run_program: '/sbin/modprobe' abnormal exit

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of buit-in commands.

(initramfs)



I have found the same error, when booting from an USB drive. Does anyone has a solution for this?

I have tried the noacpi and acpi=off kernel parameters (from the Debian AAO how to), and at one time I got to the Desktop. Launched the install, but whn I got to the partitioning, there was only /dev/sda available (and that being the USB drive).

Any ideeas? Thank you!
alexandrei
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:29 am

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby ossified65 on Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:14 pm

I have installed xubuntu on an acer aspire one following the directions here https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne
When I did the the " REDUCING SSD WEAR" step apps broke, it appears some need the log files, so skip that step. The acer works great with xubuntu and we are really happy with it. I tried to install Mint xfce and couldn't get the wireless to work, but i think I was disabling the atheros driver before I ran apt-get update. (it was late). I think mint xfce will install with no problem if you do the steps in the right order. Please bear in mind, it is not good to have a SWAP partition on a SSD, supposedly the SSD will wear out eventually. So either have no SWAP or do what we did and stick a $12 1GB card in the storage expansion slot and have that act as your SWAP partition, seems to be working for us.
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby wuying_ren on Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:56 am

Just wanted to say that Felicia RC1 works just great on the AAO. Every piece of hardware is detected, and only in some models the wifi adapter needs some attention. Anyway, disabling the default driver and installing a package solves it so it's not that important :P
"Try not. Do, or do not, there is no try." - Master Yoda

[Howto] Encrypt your system!
[Howto] Fbcondecor on Mint
User avatar
wuying_ren
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:59 am
Location: Catalunya

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby AAO Newbie on Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:25 pm

What package worked on the AAO wireless? I'm trying to run Felicia on an AAO and having problems w/the wireless.
Having a hard time finding good steps to fix it.
can you help?
AAO Newbie
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mhajii210 and 10 guests