Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby garda on Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:31 am

I've been using Mint 5 for a couple of days now but just realized my display resolution is set at 1152x864 at 75 Hz, which makes UI widgets look rather obesed to me. I need to set the resolution to 1280x960 at 72 Hz, which is just not feasible via both the Screen Resolution Control Center applet and Screens and Graphics utility. I know this resolution+refresh rate combination works, since I used it in Windows for years. So, is there a way to force arbitrary values for display resolution and refresh rate?

I've done some searching and came across a thread that says something about entering the command 'xrandr' in terminal. Will it do the trick? This is my first Linux installation and I just don't want to break it.

Additionally, the following situations are true in my case:

1. Monitor type is correctly identified by the system (Samsung SyncMaster 753DF(X)).
2. Graphics card is correctly identified by the system (GeForce4 series. GeForce4-Ti4200, actually)
3. Proprietary display driver is installed and runs smoothly.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby Husse on Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:34 pm

You may have to use a modeline
But first - do you really get 75 Hz? My experience with nvidia cards is that they stop at about 50 Hz for LCDs but that would be painful on a CRT :)
Anyway edit xorg.conf
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Add this modeline
Code: Select all
 # V-freq: 72.00 Hz  // h-freq: 72.24 KHz
 Modeline "1280x960" 130.05  1280 1352 1512 1800   960  960  963 1003

to Section "Screen" which probably looks like this before you add
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Defaultdepth 24
EndSection
It should now look like
Code: Select all
Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Monitor      "Configured Monitor"
   Device      "Configured Video Device"
SubSection "Display"
       Defaultdepth   24
 # V-freq: 72.00 Hz  // h-freq: 72.24 KHz
 Modeline "1280x960" 130.05  1280 1352 1512 1800   960  960  963 1003
EndSubSection
EndSection

You should also add to Section "Monitor" so it looks like
Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
 # V-freq: 72.00 Hz  // h-freq: 72.24 KHz
 Modeline "1280x960" 130.05  1280 1352 1512 1800   960  960  963 1003
EndSection

Modelines must appear in both places
With Elyssa/Hardy the X server was almost completely remade and this sort of solution was supposed to be completely unnecessary
But - sometimes we must use it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby garda on Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:06 am

do you really get 75 Hz?


Yes, I do get 75 Hz. :D
Perhaps its stopping at 50Hz only occurs with LCD panels.

Thanks for the clear walkthrough, Husse. You really are the man. I've taken a thorough look at my xorg.conf file, but it's far more complicated than what you said and thus I'm quite confused as to how to apply the changes into it. I've attached the file onto this post and hope you would help me with it. :?

Edit: I had to rename the file to xorg.conf.zip as .conf and .txt extensions are not allowed in this forum. Simply rename it to ditch the .zip extension.
Attachments
xorg.conf.zip
My complicated xorg.conf
(5.72 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby Husse on Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:42 am

I can immediately say that you should not have
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"

twice
Have you used dual monitors?
If not this is really confusing
When I know if you want to use dual monitors or not I'll make you a suggestion
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby garda on Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:19 am

Have you used dual monitors?


No, I've never used dual monitors in Mint. I guess the dual monitor configuration strings were generated by the nVidia driver installer since my graphics card has two output connectors (an analog and a DVI) and my monitor is hooked up to the DVI connector through a converter. But that's just a wild guess, though. :idea:

When I know if you want to use dual monitors or not I'll make you a suggestion


I don't plan to use dual monitors in near future, so please hit me. :)
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby Husse on Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:52 pm

I booted my old(er) computer to copy it's xorg.conf - it has a Geforce 6600 GT and this is how it looks
Note the absence of most anything to do with graphics.....
Try this one.
Code: Select all
# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Monitor      "Configured Monitor"
   Device      "Configured Video Device"
   Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals"   "True"
   Defaultdepth   24
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "Configured Video Device"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   Option      "DynamicTwinView"   "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules"   "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel"   "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout"   "se"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Configured Mouse"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "CorePointer"
   Option      "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
  screen "Default Screen"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   Option      "Composite"   "Enable"
EndSection
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Force Arbitrary Value for Resolution and Refresh Rate

Postby garda on Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:03 pm

I booted my old(er) computer... it has a Geforce 6600 GT...

That should make mine an (even) older computer. :lol:

Anyway, thank you so much for taking the time to come up with this. I'll try to append it to my xorg.conf.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests