Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby artrev on Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:24 am

Hey everyone, Having some trouble here and would be very grateful for help.
When I connect my VGA cable to the laptop, the laptop screen goes black, but nothing appears on the external monitor (the same monitor and same cable work for a different laptop which also runs Linux Mint 16). No matter what I try, I cannot get the screen to output.

(also, once I connect the cable, the laptop screen goes black, limiting my ability to play around with the settings, as I can see neither on the laptop screen nor the external monitor- is there any way to not have the laptop screen automatically cut out when a cable is installed, at least for a bit?). When I go to the settings and try to change the display, nothing is clickable, except the resolution buttons (ie: cannot click on "mirror displays").


Here are some specs using lspci command and xrandr:

~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82567V Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M-E LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 2 port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 2 port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 03)
01:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation WiFi Link 5100
04:0b.0 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)

and here is a readout of xrandr when the VGA cable is not plugged in.

~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 800, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected primary 1280x800+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
1280x800 60.2*+
1024x768 60.0
800x600 60.3 56.2
640x480 59.9
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

I then stuck in the VGA cable, with the command line already entered in the terminal and pressed "enter" after the screens went black. when i unplugged the VGA and was able to see the screen again this was the readout. seems to indicate the VGA is being read... which is kinda obvious i guess, given that the laptop screen went black.

~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
1280x800 60.2 +
1024x768 60.0
800x600 60.3 56.2
640x480 59.9
VGA1 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 60.0*
800x600 60.3 56.2
848x480 60.0
640x480 59.9
DVI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Thanks very much!
artrev
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:28 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby JeremyB on Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:56 pm

Try hooking the external up again and try this in terminal
Code: Select all
dmesg | tail
and look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log -scroll to the end and see if any errors are present, terminal command to check the Xorg.0.log is
Code: Select all
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | tail
JeremyB
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby artrev on Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:05 am

thanks for the ideas, here is the readout... really has me clueless... cannot figure this one out. thanks again!

~ $ dmesg | tail
[ 39.038853] cfg80211: (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 39.038856] cfg80211: (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 39.038859] cfg80211: (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[ 42.307596] wlan0: authenticate with 00:1c:7b:f4:26:cc
[ 42.313501] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:7b:f4:26:cc (try 1/3)
[ 42.318765] wlan0: authenticated
[ 42.320053] wlan0: associate with 00:1c:7b:f4:26:cc (try 1/3)
[ 42.327040] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:1c:7b:f4:26:cc (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=1)
[ 42.330386] wlan0: associated
[ 234.008751] init: anacron main process (1092) killed by TERM signal



~ $ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | tail
[ 261.103] (II) intel(0): resizing framebuffer to 1280x800
[ 261.103] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1024x768@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
[ 261.177] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1280x800@60.2 on LVDS1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
[ 363.433] (II) intel(0): resizing framebuffer to 1024x768
[ 363.444] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1024x768@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
[ 385.013] (II) intel(0): resizing framebuffer to 1280x800
[ 385.013] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1024x768@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
[ 385.085] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1280x800@60.2 on LVDS1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
[ 414.513] (II) intel(0): resizing framebuffer to 1024x768
[ 414.513] (II) intel(0): switch to mode 1024x768@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (0, 0), rotation normal, reflection none
artrev
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:28 am

Re: Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby JeremyB on Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:19 pm

Are you running Mate, Cinnamon, KDE? With my laptop using Cinnamon, all I have to do is plug the external in and it works. What is strange is that my laptop monitor will change resolution when plugging the external in when the external isn't powered on. I tried my Live DVD with Mate on it and it didn't work at all- about the same as your results but I do have Ubuntu 14.04 LTS and that worked with the external so with any luck the LM LTS might work for you but you might have to wait a month
JeremyB
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby artrev on Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:09 am

Thanks! So do you think I should just change my environment to Cinnamon? Which I assume is just:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install cinnamon-desktop

Let me give that a try and I'll let you know. Might be a bug with mate. I'll report back.
artrev
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:28 am

Re: Unable to output latptop screen to monitor mint 16

Postby JeremyB on Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:27 am

I would just download the entire thing from http://www.linuxmint.com/download.php and burn the .iso to a DVD and try it
JeremyB
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests