Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby CazaWazaLine on Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:36 am

Hardware:
- Samsung Syncmaster 225uw
- Nvidia GeForce 7000
- HP Pavillion dv6000

Problem:
I am able to connect the monitor to the laptop (VGA), and X recognises it. I use nvidia-settings manager to control the resolution, and it's currently set to "1680x1050" for the VGA and "1280x800" for the laptop monitor.
The picture on the laptop screen is perfect. However, the picture on the monitor extends over the confines of the monitor, which means that I don't get the entire picture whenever anything is maximised. The picture on the VGA also doesn't look like the resolution is as high as it claims to be. Reducing the resolution to that of the laptop monitor shifts the entire picture over to the right, so there is a big black line at the left edge of the screen, and the picture extends over the right edge of the monitor.
The controls on the monitor appear to have no effect on the location of the image.
I have fiddled around with X ad nauseum, re-installed my graphics drivers on many an occassion and spent hours trawling the internet for answers.
All I want is for the picture on the external monitor to be within the confines of its physical size...
Thank you.
CazaWazaLine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby Husse on Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:41 pm

You have waited for an answer and unfortunately this is one of the few cases (if not the only one) where I don't know what to do
I can't figure out a good search phrase...
But I think the solution is with nvida-settings
Please note that you must be root for any change to be sticky
Code: Select all
gksu nvidia-settings

There is an option "Aquire EDID"
This is the information about the monitor(s) I don't really know if you can put it to use with nvidia-settings but that would be reasonable to expect. (I just turned off my "nvidia computer" have to do something about the noise from the hard disks :()
I only have one monitor so I can't test a dual monitor solution
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby CazaWazaLine on Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:01 am

Thank you for your response.
Unfortunately, that's exactly the way my xorg.conf file is set up at the moment - everything from "Acquire EDID". Now the problem has intensified in that everything opened on my laptop monitor takes it upon itself to flip over onto the external monitor.
Oh well, must keep smiling...
CazaWazaLine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:05 am

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby Husse on Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:48 am

I have a laptop with intel graphics which I can use for dual monitors - not nvidia so I can't experiment
Google is our friend. I have too much to do to dig deep into this now, but hopefully during the week
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:34 pm

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby CazaWazaLine on Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:17 am

Husse wrote:There's lots on twin view but not much on your problem
Check these
http://www.krizka.net/2007/05/20/extern ... on-ubuntu/


One of the first things I tried was that nvidia-settings. The resolution is set through there, but the display is still stretched outside my monitor.



Couldn't find much relevance to my problem on this site...

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/dual-monitors-with-nvidia.html


Again, I'd found this site before and I've done everything suggested. I have found that I prefer the monitors as separate X-screens with Xinerama, because I don't like how slow TwinView makes my system (reallllllly slow!)


Thank you for taking the time to search the internet on my behalf, but I have already browsed many pages over the course of many hours, and I have a feeling this one might not be out there... :)
CazaWazaLine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:05 am

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby Husse on Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:27 am

To go deeper I would have to figure out a search phrase that is really accurate for your problem - and I have a feeling that's not easy
And yes I search the internet - what else could I do :)
Unfortunately a lot of people seems not to have done that...
I think that 2/3 or more of the questions are just answered without further ado
Edit// I see this was not quite coherent so I add - with answers that can be found easily with a search
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:43 am

Do you want to clone the monitors or to show different content on each.
The cloning case is possible to fix I think...
You may try to use RandR which is a tool for rotating and duplicating screens
If still no success post your xorg.conf so I can have a look at it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Windows extend over the confines of the monitor

Postby CazaWazaLine on Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:55 am

I've tried to install XRAndR before to no avail.
I'll try again. Different outputs for the monitor...
Currently I have it running at the same res as my laptop monitor (1280x800), but it looks so bad!
CazaWazaLine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests