Intel driver Problems and Mint 17

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Георги

Intel driver Problems and Mint 17

Post by Георги »

Hello!

I am new in Linux and I really don't understand "how it is going on here". I bought a Laptop, HP 250 G2 with CPU Intel Celeron N2810.
The problem is that, the brightness the Monitor is always on 100%. I thing that I need drivers from Intel - I have found something:
I installed thatq but there is not a Linux Mint Quiana distribution (* 14.04, 64-bit for Ubuntu ): https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/ ... .0.6-linux
I have also found that, but there are too many packages... to install?: https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/ ... ck-release
And I have also found something that muss I do, the Program to "find" our Distribution : http://www.webupd8.org/2013/04/how-to-u ... ivers.html

But I am new here and I don't know what to do here and how to solve the problem with the drivers. Thank you a lot; I really don't need anythng more (the bluetooth I need too, but it is not so crucial). :cry:
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Intel driver Problems and Mint 17

Post by austin.texas »

Linux Mint Qiana is based on Ubuntu 14.04
What works in Ubuntu 14.04 will work in Mint 17

To get the correct driver open Menu > Administration > Driver Manager
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
JeremyB
Level 21
Level 21

Post by JeremyB »

I would look at this tutorial first and see if you can change backlight settings http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 48#p933148

It isn't always the fault of the driver, especially with Linux