Modem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Modem

Postby twarren on Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm

I am new to Linux, I have a little experience with openSUSE. I loaded linuxmint today and cant seem find the dialer. Unfortunately High speed isn't an option right now(live to far from anywhere). I have configured the port, login, password and port with the network setup, but still cant seem to dial out. Probably something I am overlooking. Any help would be appreciated.
twarren
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby sharke on Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:13 am

If you have configured correctly open a terminal and enter pon provider or whatever name you configured. Also take a look at /etc/ppp.
Regards
Sharke
sharke
Level 1
Level 1

Hardware

Postby twarren on Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:18 pm

I think I have everything set up correctly I just dont know how to get the modem to dial. What makes it dial?
twarren
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Mint-O-Meal on Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:59 pm

I don't know why ubuntu & Mint don't come with GnomePPP, but they don't and you need it.

Link is here http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1209
Mint-O-Meal
Level 1
Level 1

Modem

Postby twarren on Sat Mar 31, 2007 8:49 pm

Thanks for the tip. I got gnomeppp and can now get the modem to dial and connect to my ISP but it wont stay connected. I suspect something with the scripting and will probably have to work it out with the ISP. Thanks again for the help.
twarren
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Mint-O-Meal on Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:07 pm

Hi twarren, I forgot one important part :oops:

Remember the first thing you were trying to setup in networking ? Open it again and configure the modem part, in General tab check "Enable this connection" now in Option tab check "Set modem as default route to Internet"