Sony Motion Eye Camera

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sony Motion Eye Camera

Postby will on Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:34 pm

Hi everyone... I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FJ170. It has a built-in Motion Eye web cam. I have never been able to get this to work with linux... any ideas? It shows up in the device manager and is recognized and everything but if I go to "Computer" in Nautilus it doesn't show up there.

Anyone know anything about this?

Thanks in advance!

-Will
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:43 pm

I have one of those old Sony Vaio C1 sub-notebooks and it has that camera too ("Kawasaki Steel Corp. Motion Eye"). You need to make sure that the "sonypi" (Sony's Programmable Interrupt Controller) driver is loaded upon system start, or else the camera will never work. I suggest to Google this, e.g. "Linux vaio sonypi meye" ... You should find plenty of hints about this.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby will on Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:42 pm

Yes I've done that... seen a lot about that driver but I don't know how to check if the sonypi driver is actually getting loaded....

Thanks for the help!

-Will
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:59 am

soccermonstar13 wrote: but I don't know how to check if the sonypi driver is actually getting loaded....

Code: Select all
sudo lsmod
OR:
Code: Select all
sudo lsmod | grep sony
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby will on Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:50 am

the sonypi driver is loading... this is odd...
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:47 pm

soccermonstar13 wrote:the sonypi driver is loading... this is odd...
No, it's not. Did you configure it correctly? Per default it will assume that there is no camera! So you have to modify a few files (e.g. /etc/modules.conf) and tell it that there is a camera it needs to take care of too. There are plenty of tutorials out on the WWW about this, see my post about Googling all this above.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby will on Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:59 pm

Oh okay. Thanks.. I'll look into this.

- Will
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Postby scorp123 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:21 pm

soccermonstar13 wrote:Oh okay. Thanks.. I'll look into this.
the problem is that there are too many Sony laptops that use the same Interrupt controller and don't have the camera. So the driver --being reverse-engineered without Sony's official blessings-- can't really know if the camera part is needed or not. So a little tweaking may be needed.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby will on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:35 pm

The tweaking instructions that I've found say I need to modify /etc/modules.conf but I only have /etc/modules.... /etc/modules.conf doesn't exist. Should I just create it?

Maybe I'll look for different instructions.
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests