Sound set in Mint 6rc1 but won't Play?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sound set in Mint 6rc1 but won't Play?

Postby Wenches_Master on Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:04 am

I just installed Mint 6rc1 a few hours ago.

I was setting everything up, Went into Control Center Sounds set all my prefered sounds for like Maximize, Minimize, etc.
All play in the setting stages.

Set up my Login sounds they played fine.

Restarted my machine Startup, Shutdown, Login, Logout sounds play fine.
But any of the others that are/were set don't?
Any ideas?

Went back in and checked all are still set and play fine in the settings area, But don't on the desktop? :(

Any Ideas? Thanks...

here are my lspci results...

rickity@rickity-laptop ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 10)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:12.0 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 Serial ATA Controller (rev 80)
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller (rev 80)
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 83)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller (rev 80)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge (rev 80)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge (rev 80)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS482 [Radeon Xpress 200M]
06:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
06:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR2413 802.11bg NIC (rev 01)
06:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller (rev 10)
06:04.1 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
06:04.2 SD Host controller: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
06:04.3 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc: (rev 01)
06:04.4 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc SD/MMC Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
rickity@rickity-laptop ~ $

My Laptop is a Acer Aspire 5100
2.0 ghz AMD Turon 64 with Mobile Tech
2 gb DDR2 ram
Ati Radeon Mobility 1100 series 256 Hyper Memory
Atheros 5500G wifi chip
Ati ac97 compliant sound card.
I "NEVER" discuss 3 things......
Religion, Politics and the Great Pumpkin!
"Linus" from A Charlie Brown Christmas...
User avatar
Wenches_Master
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Kentucky, U.S.A

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound set in Mint 6rc1 but won't Play?

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:42 am

IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller

That's one I don't remember meeting before and unfortunately you find lots of "no sound" questions if you google for it
You don't tell - can you play music?
If it's only some system sounds that does not work I would not care (but of course the why is of some interest)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound set in Mint 6rc1 but won't Play?

Postby Wenches_Master on Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:05 am

Husse wrote:
IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller

That's one I don't remember meeting before and unfortunately you find lots of "no sound" questions if you google for it
You don't tell - can you play music?
If it's only some system sounds that does not work I would not care (but of course the why is of some interest)


Yep I can play Music, Video and the like.
But not system sounds? :roll:

I really don't mind that much either, "BUT" everything not working as it should "DRIVES" me crazy.... :lol:

Oh I almost forgot.
I dwnld and installed Kubuntu 8.10 last night just to see if it was a KDE or Gnome prob.

It must be a 8.10 as a hole, because it also would play all the sounds until it installed , and then Kmix would mute itself in mid Login just as it began to play the login sound. :?

And then you couldn't Unmute it at all.
Don't know if that bit of info helps any but you never can tell.

In any event Mint 6rc1 is back on my hard drive.... :mrgreen:
I "NEVER" discuss 3 things......
Religion, Politics and the Great Pumpkin!
"Linus" from A Charlie Brown Christmas...
User avatar
Wenches_Master
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Kentucky, U.S.A


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests