cannot capture at 1280x1024

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

cannot capture at 1280x1024

Postby skooal on Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:26 am

Hi everyone,

I am new here and even if I will look like an idiot I have a question:

I have a built in webcam on my laptop and it doesn´t seem to work, even if the light is on, which means that it is active.
Going in the Multimedia System Selector and under Video, Default input, and running a test gives me this:

Video for Linux 2 (v4l2): Device '/dev/video0' cannot capture at 1280x1024

When I am trying to configure the software stopmotion, the name of the webcam appears, Chicony USB 2.0 Camera. But without any success.

I am using the Felicia RC1.

What can I do?

Thank you for your help.

Damien.
skooal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: cannot capture at 1280x1024

Postby grimdestripador on Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:31 pm

I believe that after researching "Chicony USB 2.0 Camera" I find that Chicony is a company, and that there are many USB 2.0 models. After looking at their specs, I notice that many of them don't support 1280x1024. You should probably try to capture at 640x480 or 320x240 first.
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: cannot capture at 1280x1024

Postby skooal on Sat Dec 06, 2008 5:40 am

Thank you for your help,

The only thing is how can I achieve that? Sorry about my lack of knowledge on the matter, I am learning... :D

Damien.
skooal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:15 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests