will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby leo5111 on Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:19 pm

i have 2 gigs now but want to use 4 but unsure if mint can use it
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:19 pm

It can if you install the server kernel and restricted drivers(if needed).
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby leo5111 on Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:26 pm

ok if i install the kernal does virtualbox run with that kernal? and what exactly do i need to install and how? thanks :)
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby leo5111 on Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:59 pm

merlwiz79 wrote:It can if you install the server kernel and restricted drivers(if needed).

ok can you or someone tell me what ill need? and how to install it? thanks :lol:
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby leo5111 on Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:12 pm

im posting cause some hard core googleing revealed this http://samiux.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/ ... buntu-804/ :)
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: will linux mint daryna use 4 gigs of ram?

Postby Fred on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:23 pm

leo5111,

This is the same link that scorp posted in another thread. And yes it should work for you. One caution however. The server kernel is supposedly optimized for server, not desktop use. I don't have any idea what the configuration differences between the server kernel and desktop are in the Ubuntu kernels. It would probably be wise to check in the Ubuntu forums and ask about the differences. The ideal kernel characteristics for a desktop and server are somewhat at odds with one another. Find out what you will be giving up to get the use of that last 500 to 800 MB of the 4 Gig. total on a 32 bit kernel.

You can of course compile your own 32 bit kernel with PAE patches for greater than 4 Gig. but you will take a bit of a speed hit when doing so. Of course if you are compiling a custom kernel you can probably make up this speed loss by customizing it to your equipment. For most I would say it probably isn't worth the effort to try to get the use of another 500 - 800 MB

You could of course install the 64 bit version of the distro, if all the programs you need work ok on 64 bit without a lot of configuring. But that is another issue which has improved greatly in the past year.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests