A Brother scanning problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

A Brother scanning problem

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:12 pm

I have a multifunction Brother printer/scanner/copier
"DCP7010", but I don't think the problem is with the particular scanner.
I installed the scanner driver from Brother and then realized that I had to install Sane as well, just to find out that I had to install Xsane, and (insanely?) I installed sane with and without an X.
Unlike sharke in this post: http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1936
I don't even get the command sane-find-scanner (with or without an X in the beginning) to work - command not found.
When I run xscanimage I get an error. "Failed to open device 'brother2:bus2.dev1': Error during device I/O"
OO Impress has the scanner on bus2.dev1 as well
No wonder as lsusb gives this output:
xxx:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 04f9:0182 Brother Industries, Ltd
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

The scanner is on bus1:dev2
I have tried every USB connector on my PC and they are all Bus 001 (?!)

So I know the error but not the solution.
How do I either make the scanner "move" to bus 2 or change the settings in impress and xscanimage?
I've put some effort into this without success.
And should I keep both sane and xsane or uninstall sane?
(I get "command not found" in a terminal for sane but not for xsane)
//edit// I should have mentioned that printing is OK
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:16 am

Did you follow the instructions, e.g. the ones here?
http://solutions.brother.com/linux/sol/printer/linux/sane_install.html
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Boo on Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:42 am

I had problems scanning my brother once.
I found a good hard wack on top helped.
:lol:
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:51 am

No scorp. I checked what Brother had to say but missed that description. Now I've followed it (not quite - the echo method they describe didn't work so I used ordinary edit) and rebooted, but I'm still at square one (:
i.e. the scanner is listed by lsusb on bus1:dev2 but the applications look in bus2:dev1
Number magic? :)
//edit//
Printing works fine
My Sony Ericsson Walkman phone is detected immediately it's plugged in and I can browse the memory card (had trouble doing that in XP due to drive letter problems)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Hammerhand and 21 guests