Sound Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sound Problem

Postby crazymarvin on Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:31 pm

I've just installed Linux Mint 5 on my laptop and I can't get the sound to work - my laptop is a Packard Bell EasyNote BG, with a Intel 965m chipset. The sound controller is a Realtek ALC660. There doesn't appear to be a problem with the drivers - I am able to adjust the sound, and the sound controller is being recognized by the OS. I cant get any sound from the laptop speakers/headphones, however when i plug the laptop into a set of 5.1 speakers and turn then up full you get a feint bit of sound that you can only hear by putting your ear up to the speaker, yet all the volume controls i can find are at 100%.

I have included the following information because in previous sound related posts I've looked at it has been requested.
lsmod | grep snd

snd_hda_intel 344728 3
snd_pcm_oss 42144 0
snd_mixer_oss 17920 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 78596 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_hwdep 10500 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_seq_dummy 4868 0
snd_seq_oss 35584 0
snd_seq_midi 9376 0
snd_rawmidi 25760 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 8320 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 54224 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer 24836 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 9612 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd 56996 17 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_hwdep,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 8800 1 snd



Can anyone help?
crazymarvin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:54 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound Problem

Postby Husse on Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:21 am

I think this may be a pulse audio problem and if it is the solution is in these links
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578
http://www.pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectSetup
But first go through every setting for sound, double click the volume applet next to the clock and check in preferences that the essential functions are enabled and not muted. Also check settings in your programs
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Postby Husse on Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:41 am

This is odd - this was found among unanswered although I had answered.
Just one more answer to check for errors
Edit - it disappeared from unanswered.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests