NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby NateFlax on Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:40 am

Hello, I'm completely new to Linux.
I made a DualBoot with Windows Vista Basic & Linux Mint 6.0. I finished installing Mint a few hours ago, but i've run into a big problem: My Wireless card isn't working properly :cry: . it's a "Netgear WG111v2" and it plugs into your PC via USB. Once i plugged it in I was able to find my Wireless Router and connect to it. However the signal strength was about 1/3 of what i usually get, and plus I'm not getting any internet connection coming through it :cry: .
I've spent countless hours on it, trying to figure out how to get it to work. But I still can't figure it out. I've been reading other Forums and posts from all sorts of websites with people that are having similar problems with there "Wireless Internet Card"(Whatever you call it), and they all seemed to need something called "ndiswrapper". I found a website online (While running Windows Vista. In case anyone was wondering how i got internet) and i got version 1.53. However, I can't figure out how it works or how you run it! :cry:
Could someone PLEASE help me out?
I am COMPLETELY new to Linux. I know absolutely nothing about it. Would someone please help me? This is getting me very upset :cry:

Note:
-I am Using Linux Mint 6.0 (Felicia)
-"NETGEAR WG11v2" Works fine with Windows Vista Basic on same PC

PC specs(if this helps any):
-3.0GHz AMD DualCore Processor
-2GB DDR2 RAM
-NVidia GeForce 7600 GS
-250GB Seagate Sata HDD
-MSI Mother Board (I don't know anything about the Mother Board, other then it's made by Micro Star International)
-Wireless Card Thingy: "NETGEAR WG111v2"
NateFlax
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: NetGear WG111v2 Problem. Please Help!!

Postby Fornhamfred on Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:56 am

Welcome to Mint