Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby Fzang on Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:22 pm

When I first installed mint I did not create a swap partition because I found it unnecessary performance-wise. Now I discovered that swap partitions are necessary for hibernate as well.. didn't think of that one... so now I have created a 5 GB swap file which appears to work just fine, system monitor reports "0 bytes of 4,9 GiB"

So now I should be able to at least hibernate, right? Then why can't I? If I hibernate it'll blank screen, it won't turn completely off or back on again and I have to do a hard reset. I haven't tried suspend but I strongly assume that it acts likewise.

I have 4 GB of RAM and my swap file is, as said, 5 GB. Oh, and If I could suspend that'd be godly...

Is there any way of enabling these things? I would kill to have a fully working linux laptop...
Fzang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby hotweiss on Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:22 pm

Fzang wrote:When I first installed mint I did not create a swap partition because I found it unnecessary performance-wise. Now I discovered that swap partitions are necessary for hibernate as well.. didn't think of that one... so now I have created a 5 GB swap file which appears to work just fine, system monitor reports "0 bytes of 4,9 GiB"

So now I should be able to at least hibernate, right? Then why can't I? If I hibernate it'll blank screen, it won't turn completely off or back on again and I have to do a hard reset. I haven't tried suspend but I strongly assume that it acts likewise.

I have 4 GB of RAM and my swap file is, as said, 5 GB. Oh, and If I could suspend that'd be godly...

Is there any way of enabling these things? I would kill to have a fully working linux laptop...


Can you provide the exact make and model of your notebook?
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby Fzang on Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:46 pm

I shall try

Manufacture: Zepto

NVIDIA® Geforce 9650M GT 512MB @ 1280x800
Intel® Core™ Duo-processor T3200
4096MB DDR2 800MHz PC6400
320GB SATA harddisk
Intel Wifi 533AN / ANBG / 450Mbit / Centrino 2

Motherboard ID: <DMI>
Motherboard name: Zepto Zepto
Chipset: Intel Cantiga PM45
BIOS type: Insyde
BIOS version: A15LL


Well, how's that? Overkill? :)
Hope you guys can help me
Fzang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby hotweiss on Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:10 pm

To enable hibernate after you mess around with your swap partition, you have to make a few steps to get your uuid's matching:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/295629

See if this solution will get your suspend to ram working:

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Install_U ... repid_Ibex)_on_a_Thinkpad_T400
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby Fzang on Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:49 am

Alright, I tried doing some of the commands on the launchpad page, here's the outputs:

1. The file is "/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume", where you have to check the UUID of the swap partition

I didn't have this file so I created it and in the file I put
Code: Select all
/mnt/5000Mb.swap  none  swap  sw  0 0

as it says in my /etc/fstab to find my swapfile

2. Update Initrd by "sudo update-initramfs –u"

This returns

Code: Select all
Johs-zepto joh # sudo update-initramfs -u
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-7-generic
/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume: 1: /mnt/5000Mb.swap: Permission denied


3. Update grub by "sudo /sbin/update-grub"


This returns
Code: Select all
Johs-zepto joh # sudo /sbin/update-grub
Your /usr is broken, please fix it before call this wrapper!


What's wrong?
Fzang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby Fzang on Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:35 am

Bump?
Fzang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:51 am

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby hotweiss on Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:21 am

Code: Select all
sudo sh update-initramfs –u


Try this instead...
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Hibernate and suspend on laptop, PLEASE help!

Postby garda on Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:27 am

There's a write-up in the Tutorials / How-Tos section of this forum that covers fixing hibernation issue with nVidia restricted drivers installed. It's stickied, thus it should be very easy to find.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: briwayjones and 15 guests