Headphones solved

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Headphones solved

Postby Kaye on Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:51 am

Hey everyone.

I'm using an Acer Aspire 6920 dual boot with Windows Vista. When I first installed Mint, my sound wasn't working at all, so I installed OSS4 to remedy the problem. Now, however, I have a new problem: when I plug in my headphones, sound comes through them just fine... but it also comes through the speakers. Is there any way for me to fix this?

Thanks, Kaye
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:45 am

You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here (To copy from a terminal right click)
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Kaye on Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:15 pm

I'm running the standard version of Felicia from the Mint download page.

Here's the result of lspic:
Code: Select all
jordan@jordanlaptop ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L1 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev b0)
08:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection (rev 61)


Thanks for your help.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:25 am

I'm not entirely convinced this will help but there is a good chance (you have ICH8)
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=17801&p=107982&hilit=ich8+alsa#p107982
Of course you have to change model=acer to what ever you have or auto
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Kaye on Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:44 am

Nope, that didn't fix the headphones problem.

I would guess that's because it looks like an ALSA fix and I'm using OSS4 possibly?
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Headphones

Postby Kaye on Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:48 pm

Anyone else have a possible solution?
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:19 am

I'll try to find a solution - unfortunately the forum obstructs and has stopped sending mail again so I have to give that priority
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Kaye on Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:04 pm

It's alright.. I've found a hack for the time being. Right now I'm just using ossxmix to basically turn off my exterior speakers when I plug in my headphones. Apparently OSS has a broken driver for recognizing headphones on some systems, so this might be the best I'm going to get until the driver is updated.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Headphones

Postby exjinn on Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:53 pm

I'm having the same issue on an Acer Aspire 6530 however I enabled Surround, and turned up the volume in preferences and muted Front (main speakers) to work around this problem
Acer Aspire 6530 - 2.0 Ghz AMD Turion X2 64-bit | 4 gigs ram | 320 gb hd | ATI Mobility Radeon 3650 HD 512mb
Linux Mint 9 x64 GNOME and/or Openbox
exjinn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:24 pm

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:35 am

Apparently OSS has a broken driver for recognizing headphones on some systems

Ah - you've found the explanation - there's nothing I can do about that - writing drivers for sound is a bit beyond me :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Christopher91 on Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:31 pm

can someone point me to a link to the ossxmix please? Google is yielding zilch for me. :(
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:35 am

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Christopher91 on Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:47 pm

Ok, so either I'm daft or I'm not seeing anything.

The link you gave me doesn't have a download for the app. But instead it just shows how to use the app in terminal.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:19 am

You're right - what you can see from that page is that ossmix is part of oss that can be downloaded here
http://www.opensound.com/download.cgi
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Christopher91 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:07 pm

Why is everything needing the command line to install things?

'Course, I'm coming from mac os so my expections were a bit high.

But how do I just do a simple install for this app? the only program that did not need command line to install is apps in the package manager. Help! I'm terrified of messing something up.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:30 pm

On the download page I linked to there is a .deb file (use the pull down menu) and that does not use the command line....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Christopher91 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:29 pm

It says the file is either corrupted or I don't have th right permissions. So I changed the permissions to read and right and I am still getting this error.

Sorry if I'm being a nuisance :( .
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:47 pm

We've all been newbies....
When you double click a .deb gdebi* should start and you should be asked to give your password
*gdebi is the "package installer"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Headphones

Postby Christopher91 on Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:01 am

Husse wrote:We've all been newbies....
When you double click a .deb gdebi* should start and you should be asked to give your password
*gdebi is the "package installer"



the installer never asked for a password, it showed the progress bar and then said the file was corrupted or I didn't have the right permissions.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Headphones

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:40 am

Sorry - it did that for me too
Seems you have to start it from the command line...
Run
sudo dpkg -I oss-linux-4.1-1051_i386.deb
Note -I is a capital i
This gets you some info - among that - Conflicts: libflashsupport
Copy that info to a txtfile just in case - it should download necessary files that do not exist but you never know
Then change -I to -i to get it installed
It behaves in the terminal about the same as if it had a GUI
However this is beginning to be to much for your original goal but if oss(x)mix is the solution for you this is the way to go
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests