Screen spanning

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:02 pm

Hi folks, its me again...

My problem is when I turn on extended desktop it streches my desktop in between both screens and puts the menubar on the screen I just plugged in. However, my icons are still on my laptops main screen.

Is there anyway i can keep the laptop screen as primary?

The laptop is a Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E if that matters. I has the Intel GMA 4500M HD card.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:32 am

I tried to find something about this but I ended up in the second failed search today
Far to much ads for laptops in the search result or dual core instead of dual monitors
Have you tried the "Screen Resolutions" applet?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:54 pm

That was my first place to look. It only does resolution change. It sees the screen and recognizes what they both are(internal and external), but it doesn't show any option to change which one is the primary.

Has linux always stretched the desktop so that when full screen apps like the media player stretch across both?
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:29 am

No - a common complaint is that the screen is duplicated
I'm not familiar with the way intel graphics handles this - more nvidia and ATI
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:41 am

There is sometimes that it takes the main display and sets in the middle between the two screens. then Mint freezes and I have to force shut it down.

I downloaded the drivers from Intel but it came as an exe even though I specified Linux drivers. :(
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:44 am

Here's a picture to show what happens. http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3618/331 ... 0c6d_b.jpg

At that point it's frozen, I can't see the mouse or do any thing, so a force shut down has to be done.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:52 am

No one has had this problem before? :(
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:47 am

I don't recognise it, but there is a guy that has a slightly similar problem with an Intel graphics
I have very limited time for anything but my job this week, but I'll try to find something
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:50 pm

Husse wrote:I don't recognise it, but there is a guy that has a slightly similar problem with an Intel graphics
I have very limited time for anything but my job this week, but I'll try to find something



Thanks for your help.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:21 am

I thought of this and the other guy while I worked yesterday (I'm nowhere near a computer)
The x server writes (paints - I don't really know which word to use) the screen in four quadrants
You both have the upper left quadrant "filled in" the rest either garbled as in your case or black
I chatted with AvanceIT about among other things this problem (really not yours but the other guy) and he said he had only heard of it in some cases of a misconfigured Solaris
I've never seen it, the closest I've seen is when in Win98 if you select to low a resolution large portions of the screen ends up outside the monitor.
I hope I can find something about it, but it is odd and may drown in more normal errors ....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:46 pm

I had a feeling, I'm almost fully sure the drivers work fine because I can get full 1280X800 on my laptop screen. There is a few times where it will "work" but instead of making two different desktops like normal, it makes it like I am using the Matrox DualHead2Go thing, meaning it takes the main display and takes that desktop and stretches it over to the second screen.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:13 am

The image looks a bit like the Dell monitor is somewhat out of range
Yes I think the driver is OK judging by the looks of the laptop screen
Post your xorg.conf
Code: Select all
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf >> xcf

This will give you a printout in home
To find out about the range you can run xvidtune - don't use it to change anything, just display - it's a rather powerful tool
(May not work on DVI) Unfortunately I don't know how to use it on dual monitors....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:13 pm

Starting fiddling with all this again, and the dual screens seem to only work if I restart with the display connected. It still puts the menubar on the second scree, but I think I fixed it by moving it to my laptops screen and shutting it down with the everything how I want it.

I'll send a picture of what terminal said about my video config.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3393/333 ... 3584_o.png

EDIT

Well I was wrong about the menubar staying where I wanted it.
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:07 am

Post xorg.conf as text - one can't scroll inside an image :)
Look like you may have to do something about it....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Christopher91 on Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:40 pm

christopher@Sony-Vaio ~ $ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 2304 800
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection
Sony Vaio VGN-NS110E Linux Mint Felica x64
iMac Aluminum 20" 2.0GHz Leopard(for now)
iMac G4 700MHz 15"
PowerMac G4 dual 450MHz Tiger(for now)
Christopher91
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Screen spanning

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:54 pm

Ah- nothing much hidden
The virtual in xorg.conf should be the sum of both screens I think
There is a powerful command line tool called xrandr that may help you
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution
At least that is a starting point
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Olafurpall and 7 guests