8600M GT - only one resolution

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby k0tuk on Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:36 am

Hi!

I`m having some trouble with Nvidia drivers. I`ve installed the ones from my Linux Mint 6 repositories (177.82), but the system only shows one resolution available: 1920x1200. I have an Acer 7720g laptop, and i`ve installed many other Linux Distros before ( Ubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, PCLos, DreamLinux ), many driver versions, but they never detected any resolutions but 1920x1200.

The drivers are ok, they work nice, but sometimes i need other resolutions, for example for Wine games.

I have found a topic about that problem: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=114121
but i need some guidance, i guess in configuring my xorg. I`ve tried to add another resolution to my xorg.conf http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=35845&d=1236237602 but i guess i`m doing something wrong. I`ve also attached my log file http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=35844&d=1236237499 that i get when i start x server with
Code: Select all
startx -verbose 6 -logverbose 6


i would appreaciate any help with my issue.
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby proxima_centauri on Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:59 am

You can't select alternative resolutions, even in the Nvidia X Server settings GUI??
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: 8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:07 pm

I have an almost identical card to yourself it is the GS version not the GT but mine works perfectly which is very strange.

Incidentally there is already an active thread on virtually this topic here:

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=22801

You might want to have a read through that (although it doesn't have a solution yet).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: 8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby k0tuk on Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:29 pm

nvidia-settings give me only one resolution.

thanks for the thread, but it gives me nothing... Maybe you can post your xorg.conf file to compare with mine?
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Re: 8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby k0tuk on Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:12 pm

Ok, i guess i have found my solution

First, run check the available refresh rate in nvidia-settings. Mine was 62,

Remember the refresh rate.

So, let`s edit xorg.conf. In terminal, open it with
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf


Next step is to generate some Modelines. You must find a list of supported resolutions for your Nvidia card. I got mine from my Vista partition. All you need is to run the command in terminal:

Code: Select all
gtf x y r
where x and y are resolution and r is a refresh rate you got from the nvidia-settings command. For example:
Code: Select all
gtf 800 600 62
gave me this:

Code: Select all
       # 800x600 @ 62.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 38.56 kHz; pclk: 39.49 MHz
     Modeline "800x600_62.00"  39.49  800 832 912 1024  600 601 604 622  -HSync +Vsync


Add this to your xorg.conf to the "Monitor" section, just like that:

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
     # 800x600 @ 62.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 38.56 kHz; pclk: 39.49 MHz
     Modeline "800x600_62.00"  39.49  800 832 912 1024  600 601 604 622  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection



And also that resolution to the "Screen" section:

Code: Select all
Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Monitor      "Configured Monitor"
   Device      "Configured Video Device"
   DefaultDepth   24
       SubSection "Display"
           Depth           24
           Modes   "1920x1200" "800x600"
       EndSubSection
       SubSection "Display"
           Depth           16
           Modes   "1920x1200" "800x600"
       EndSubSection
EndSection


Do that for all resolutions you need and that restart your PC. If you did everything right, all your defined resolutions should be available in the nvidia-settings.

Good luck!
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Re: 8600M GT - only one resolution

Postby viking777 on Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:26 am

Well Done, good work!
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lorinkundert and 11 guests